BBBB Beer Bread & Basil Butter

Standard

I have been cooking, just not posting. I hope to get back into the swing of things!

Eryn sent me these recipes and boy am I glad she did. They are super easy and very tasty! I am not sure where she found the Beer Bread recipe. There are a ton of them out there on the internet.

Beer Bread

  • 3 cups self rising flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 can of room temp beer (All of our beer was in the frig, so it was slightly chilled ;) )
  • 2 T. melted butter, optional (Eryn does not do this step, I seen it used on another recipe and thought I would give it a try. It was tasty.)

Mix everything except the butter;  put in a greased loaf. Drizzle with butter. Bake at 350 for an hour. You can decrease the sugar if too sweet for you.

That is it! How simple is that?

Ingredient Line up for Beer Bread.

Mix beer, self rising flour and sugar.

Pour into a greased bread pan. If you wish, drizzle with butter. Pop into the oven for 1 hour. Simple. Simple. Simple.

Meanwhile, you can whip up a batch of Basil Butter. This is seriously some good stuff! She found this recipe on Foodie Reflections Blog.

Basil Butter

  • 1 cup fresh basil leaves, rinsed and dried
  • 1 3 garlic clove, peeled (I upped the garlic because I ♥ Garlic)
  • 1/2 pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

Get your food processor out. Add the basil and garlic cloves to the food processor. Process until finely chopped, you might need to scrap the sides to make sure everything is being chopped finely. Add the room temp (room temp is a must) butter and pulse until well blended then season with salt and lemon juice. Serve at room temperature or you can roll into a log with parchment paper and freeze. It should last in frig for 3 days or you can freeze it for a few months.

This is so good on the beer bread, but I have used it on lots of things. I spread it on a french bread, then sprinkle the bread with parmesan cheese; broil. It would be good on pasta, potatoes, chicken, fish, steak, veggies…

Finely chop the garlic and basil in a food processor. Add the butter. Pulse until thoroughly mixed. Add salt and lemon juice. Pulse a few time.

BBBB ~ Beer Bread & Basil Butter. So good.

Is your mouth-watering?

Sorry about disappearing for awhile. I shall try to do better!

Thanks for the recipes, Eryn :)

~Relish Food & Life!

2 responses »

  1. Soon as I saw this, I couldn’t help but think to grill the beer bread then add the basil butter! You have inspired me to try out some of the composed butters I have seen.

Leave a Reply

