Maple, Mustard,Garlic & Rosemary Chicken

Standard

I was looking for something easy for supper last night, so I went to my boards on pinterest. I had pinned this chicken dish, which said it was a Man-Pleasing Chicken! Mark loved it, so I guess it is!

It reminds me of a pork tenderloin dish I like to make. It has rosemary, garlic, honey & balsamic vinegar in the recipe. So good. I will make and post it in the next few weeks.

This recipe come from Witty in the City. She stated in her blog that the recipe was adapted from Trader Joe’s cookbook. I did a search and could not find the recipe, after a minute, I thought I bet I have that cook book..yep I did! TJ has you flour, salt and pepper the chicken and then brown it in olive oil. Mix honey and basil and pour over the chicken and bake.

This way is so much easier and not as messy! Here is my twist to the recipe, it is slightly different from Witty in the City’s version.

Maple, Mustard, Garlic & Rosemary Chicken

  • 1/2 cup Dijon Mustard
  • 1/4 cup Maple syrup ( If you want, I think you could substitute with honey)
  • 1 T rice wine vinegar
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 T fresh rosemary, minced
  • 5-6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs ( You could use breast and they both can be bone in. I assume with skin would also be good, especially if you do TJ method above, coating with flour, salt and pepper and browning before you put in the oven)
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Line your pan or glass casserole with aluminum foil, this will make it an easy clean up. Mix all ingredients except chicken. Salt and Pepper both sides of the chicken. Place in pan. Pour sauce over chicken. Toss around a bit so chicken is covered on all sides with the sauce.  Bake at 450 for 30 to 40 minutes. Make sure the chicken temp is 165F. Half way through, baste the chicken with sauce.The time depends on what kind of chicken you use and if it is boneless or not. Let rest for a few minutes. Spoon extra sauce left in pan over the chicken.

First, I was making it according to the recipe on the blog. Mix honey and Dijon mustard together.

Then, I thought why add the rosemary after it is done cooking.

As I was stirring in the Rosemary, I was thinking how this reminded me of the pork tenderloin recipe…that is when I decided garlic would be a tasty addition. I was right, it was!

Line your pan or dish with foil: salt and pepper both sides of chicken. Place in pan.

Pour sauce over the chicken, toss it around a bit so all the chicken gets sauce on it. Pop into the oven.

Maple, Mustard, Garlic and Rosemary Chicken. It was really good and sooo easy!

I know sometimes it is hard to get boneless thighs locally, bigger towns seem to carry them. They are becoming a new favorite.

It was a great dinner. I served it with Potatoes with Cipolline Onions and Rosemary and fresh greens beans tossed with a bit of butter and greek seasoning.

~Relish Food & Life!

One response »

Leave a Reply

