Nantucket Cranberry Pie

Standard

You are at the right blog, I thought a change would be nice. What do you think of the new look? I am liking it!

Sorry for being MIA, it has been a busy couple of months. I have so much to share, but not sure where to begin and that is why I have not posted in a while. So, I think I will just share a recipe.

Jim, by cooking buddy sent me this recipe. It is the perfect time of year to make this recipe, since cranberries are in the stores right now. So, if you got a bag of cranberries hanging around, this is a super easy and tasty way to get rid of them. I believe he found the recipe on Food Network Website.

Nantucket Cranberry Pie
  • 2 cups chopped fresh cranberries (I used whole bag and I just realized I did not chop them!)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar, divided
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
Spread the cranberries, walnuts and 1/2 cup sugar in the bottom of a 9″ or 10″ cake pan (or skillet or anything else you might have lying around).  Mix the rest of the ingredients in a separate bowl to form a batter.  Pour the batter over the cranberry mixture and bake in an oven preheated to 350 for around 40 minutes.  Cool a bit in the pan, and enjoy
Notes: I used pecans instead of the walnuts (because that is what I had). Jim also used pecans, but used vanilla instead of almond extract. Being the almond lover that I am, I used the almond extract. I think next time, I try sliced almonds in place of the walnuts :)
As you can see, it really does not look like a pie. I think it is more like a coffee cake.
Have you started your Christmas shopping yet or have your decorations all up? I have started shopping, but need to start on the decoration asap!
~Relish Food & Life
5 responses »

  1. Love the new look! It’s really bright and cheerful. The pie does look more like a cake, but I’ll bet it tastes good, and I’m glad Jim shared the recipe too!

  2. It wasn’t Food Network, it was more circuitous than that. Pioneer Woman had one which gave credit to Laurie Colwin. It was in Colwin’s More Home Cooking book which I found on a cooking books blog. All of which is now on your blog.;-) Simple and great dessert/breakfast.

Leave a Reply

