Chicken Pasta with a Creamy Sun-dried Tomato Sauce

Standard

I pulled out one of my old Cookbooks and turned to one of my favorites. It is a easy and tasty recipe.

**Update: I was posting this to main dishes under recipes and I already posted this recipe. I even checked the list. Oh well, it may be a little different and it shows you I really like it!

7This is a great cookbook. It has a lot of delicious recipes in it. My favorite cookbooks tend to be from Junior Leagues. They seem to have a variety of recipes. Here is my slightly altered version.

Chicken Past with a Creamy Sun-dried Tomato Sauce

  • 2 tsp. Extra virgin olive oil
  • 5 – 6 shallots, minced
  • 1 1/2 – 2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast or tenders, cooked and julienned **
  • 8 oz jar Sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, drained***
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 16 oz. penne pasta
  • 1 Tablespoon butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese plus more for serving
  • 3 – 4 Tablespoons julienned fresh basil ( I have used dried when fresh is not available)
  • Pinch of red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper

Get the penne started in boiling salted water. Cook until it is al dente. Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a large skillet at medium heat. Add shallots and saute for around 2 minutes or until soft. Add the cooked chicken and sun-dried tomatoes and cook for 2 minutes. Stir in Cream. Start with 1 cup and add more if needed. I used approximately a heavy 1 1/4 cups. Add Salt, red pepper flakes and pinch of pepper. Cook an additional 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. If my pasta is not done at this point, turn down the heat;  put a lid on the skillet that is slightly vented to keep warm. Toss pasta with butter You could skip this if you are watching your figure ;) Then toss in pasta, Parmesan cheese and basil. Serve immediately top each plate of pasta with Parmesan, if desired. This will serve 6 -8.

**I sprinkle the chicken with an Italian seasoning blend, Tuscan Sunset from Penzey Spices.  You could use any Italian seasoning blend. Then put it in a covered glass casserole and microwave until done.

***I LOVE LOVE Sun- dried tomatoes. They are packed with flavor. I usually use the ones that are not packed in oil, but I really think using the oil packed in this recipe is the best. I used the ones that are packed in oil, julienned and with Italian Seasonings.

Look at the pile of yummy goodness!

Look at the pile of yummy goodness!

Saute the shallots in olive oil.

Saute the shallots in olive oil. Saute until soft.

Add chicken and sun-dried tomatoes. Cook for 2 minutes.

Add chicken and sun-dried tomatoes. Cook for 2 minutes.

Add cream; cook additional 2 minutes.

Add cream, salt and peppers; cook additional 2 minutes. Toss pasta with butter; then with sauce, Parmesan cheese and basil.

Chicken Pasta with Creamy Sun-dried Tomato Sauce

Chicken Pasta with Creamy Sun-dried Tomato Sauce

I served this with Roasted Broccoli. You can click to view the recipe. Grace is my broccoli eater and I think she could eat the whole bowl ;)

Sundried tomato pasta and broc

I am trying a few new snack recipes tomorrow for Bunco. I will post them if they are keepers ;)

Have a great weekend!

~Relish Food & Life!

One response »

Leave a Reply

