Grilled Sweet Onions Stuffed with Blue Cheese & Bacon

Standard

I had this recipe pinned on Pinterest for a long time. I finally got around to trying it out last night and I am sure glad I did. It was very easy to prepare and really good.

I have never been a huge Blue Cheese lover, but I am learning to like it. This recipe definitely helped me like it even more :)

This recipe came from What’s Cooking Blog.

Grilled Sweet Onions Stuffed with Blue Cheese & Bacon

  • 4 large-sized sweet onions
  • 1 stick of butter, room temperature
  • 2/3 cup blue cheese
  • 4 strips bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste

Trim the ends off of the onions, and peel. Scoop out the inside of the onion to create a hole, but do not go through the bottom. I used a melon baller.

Mix butter, blue cheese, bacon, thyme, salt and pepper. I used a pinch of salt since blue cheese tends to be salty. I added a couple pinches of the pepper.

Stuff the onions with the blue cheese mixture. Wrap the onion in pieces of foil. Make sure to seal it at the top to keep steam inside.

Heat your grill on high. Reduce heat to medium low and place the foil pouches directly over the heat. Close the lid of the grill and cook for 30 – 40 minutes. (The Cooking time will vary upon size of onions). Try not to open the grill or the pouches while cooking.

Remove from the grill and let sit for 5 minutes in the foil. The steam from the pouches will be hot, so be careful when opening them. I found there was a lot of butter at the bottom of the foil, so I suggest using tongs to take out the onions….trust me, you do not need all that butter that is left at the bottom, but if you wish you can drizzle some of the butter on top of the onion ;)

Scoop out a hole in the top of the onion.

Scoop out a hole in the top of the onion.

Stuff the onion with the Blue Cheese mixture. Bring the foil to the top of the onion and make sure it is sealed.

Stuff the onion with the Blue Cheese mixture. Bring the foil to the top of the onion and make sure it is sealed.

After done grilling, let it sit for 5 minutes. Be careful when opening, the steam will be hot.

After done grilling, let it sit for 5 minutes. Be careful when opening, the steam will be hot.

Grilled Sweet Onion Stuffed with Blue Cheese & Bacon

Grilled Sweet Onion Stuffed with Blue Cheese & Bacon

Sorry for the photos, I took them with my phone and they did not turn out too good :( BUT I really wanted to share this recipe with you.

I made one for each of us. I think we each could have eaten 2 of them. Even this not too sure about blue cheese person LOVED them.

~Relish Food & Life

One response »

Leave a Reply

