Honest to Goodness

Standard

Friday was a beautiful day out. Mark and I went to St. Charles to watch our niece, Julie Huelsmann play in a tournament at Lindenwood University. WOW that is a beautiful campus!! Then went down to old St. Charles on the riverfront and ate at one of my favorite places there, Magpie Cafe. They have the best cream of potato soup.  It is so nice down there. I need to visit it more often and without Mark! He loved the old buildings reading every sign but he is NOT a shopper!

I did get to run in one store. I purchased this kit to make one of my wine bottles into a oil lamp. This wine bottle came from a  winery in Colorado that we visited this summer. I love the bottle and found the perfect topper to make it a oil lamp. Here is the website of Wine Lights:  http://www.winelight.com/

Grace had some girls spend the night. I was trying to think of what I would make them for breakfast. I decided to make a recipe out of my 1st Junior League Cookbook, Honest to Goodness by Springfield Illinois Junior League, 1989. That cookbook began my love for Junior League cookbooks. The league members submit their favorite recipes. There is usually a process where they taste them and dwindle them down to a great selection of recipes. I have a few favorites in this cookbook besides the one I am sharing today. They include: Fourth of July Salad, Sunday Night Soup, Gooey Pecan Rolls, Easy Italian Bread and New Salem Corn Casserole. This cover on this cookbook is pretty cool. Ole Honest Abe’s portrait on the front is made out of spices.

This is a super easy breakfast recipe and pretty darn tasty!

Cream Cheese Cinnamon Swirls

  • 16 ozs. cream cheese
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 T. cinnamon
  • 1 loaf sliced white bread, crust removed

Beat cream cheese, egg yolk and vanilla until smooth. Flatten each slice of bread and spread with cream cheese mixture. Roll up and brush with melted butter. Roll in cinnamon and sugar mixture and cut into fourths. Place on greased baking sheets. Bake at 350 for 10 – 15 minutes. These maybe frozen before baking, thawed and then baked. Yields: 30 servings.

Hmm…I wonder what this recipe would taste like using the fruit flavor cream cheese? I might have to give that a try.

The rest of the day I am going on a bus to some IL Wineries with Timmermann and Huelsmann girls. It should be a blast. I will report tomorrow 😀

Carpe Diem!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

