Linguine with Chicken and Garlic

Standard

The cookbook I chose from the shelf today was Pomegranates & Prickly Pears, by The Junior League of Phoenix. Mark gave this one to me this past Christmas. I have not tried very many recipes out of there. I did make Messy Georges and they were pretty good. It is a version of a Sloppy Joe.

This dish was really good. It is not heavy like pasta with a sauce. I loved the poblanos in it. It gave it a little but too much of a kick. This dish definitely got a VG (very good) marked in my cookbook.

It is kind of strange they have poblano peppers in this. Since poblanos are usually used in Mexican dishes and this recipe screams Italian…but it worked! Poblanos are my favorite pepper! The have just right amount of kick for me. I have poblanos in my garden but not big enough to pick. So, I purchased mine at Breese’s very own Mexican Grocery store, El Maguey. If you have not been in there, it is a must! I find it quite interesting.  When I have a day to myself I end up going to different grocery stores for hours 🙂 I know kind of strange!

Linguine with Chicken and Garlic

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup minced garlic
  • 12 ounces linguine
  • salt to taste
  • 1 1/2 lbs. boneless chicken breasts, cut into thin strips
  • 2 poblano chilies, seeded and julienne
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced fresh basil
  • 3 plum tomatoes, seeded and chopped**
  • 4 ounces prosciutto, chopped I used Pancetta (because that is what I had)***
  • 2 T butter
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced fresh basil

Heat olive oil in a small heavy skillet over medium heat. Cook the garlic in the hot oil for 6 minutes or until lightly brown. Strain, reserving the garlic and oil. Cook the pasta in boiling salted water in saucepan until al dente. Drain and cover to keep warm.

Heat 1 T of the reserved oil in a large heavy skillet over medium-high heat. Saute the chicken in the hot oil for 5 minutes. Add the poblano chilies and saute for 2 minutes. add 1/4 cup basil, tomatoes, prosciutto and 2 T of the reserved garlic and mix well. Saute for 1 minute or until chicken is cooked through. Remove from the heat and stir in the butter until melted.

Toss the hot pasta, chicken mixture and 1/2 cup of the cheese in a bowl. Season with salt and pepper and sprinkle with 1/4 cup basil and remaining 2 T reserved garlic. Serve with remaining 1/2 cup cheese.

**I used a mixture of grape and roma tomatoes. That is what I had in the garden.

***I did not have Prosciutto but I did have Pancetta. Prosciutto is a Italian ham and Pancetta is an Italian Bacon. After consulting my favorite website http://www.foodsubs.com/ I decided it was ok to substitute. http://www.foodsubs.com/MeatcureBacon.html Heck..how could I go wrong with bacon!

http://www.foodsub.com is a food thesaurus. If you do not have an ingredient it will tell you something else you can use instead. It is super handy! You definitely need to bookmark it as a favorite.

Isn't his the cutest little skillet? It was my Mom's ♥

Linguine with Chicken and Garlic = Yum!

I want to thank everyone for the comments. I love hearing what you have to say so keep them coming. Do not forget you can subscribe to this blog. It is at the top right of the page. You will receive an email telling you when I posted.

Some of you may know that I am redoing my kitchen. I am super excited and will take you along on this adventure. Tomorrow I am going with with Reagan and Donna from The Design Studio in Breese to look at some counter-tops.

Enjoy!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

