Ancho Chili Corn Chowder

Standard

Yesterday morning it was rainy and seemed like a good day to make soup! By the time I got home it was sunny and beautiful. I decided to still make the soup.

So I went to my boxes and grab the soup file. I clipped this recipe out of a Paula Deen magazine, November/December 2007. I sure wished I had tried it sooner. It was really good.

Yes...this is all my magazine and internet recipes 😀

Ancho Chili Corn Chowder

  • 2 T butter
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 3/4 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped celery
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped red bell pepper
  • 1 (11 oz) can niblet corn, drained I use southwestern style corn
  • 1 (4.5 oz) can chopped green chilies
  • 1 cup frozen country-style hash brown potatoes, thawed
  • 2 T all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp ancho chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream

In a soup pot, add butter and olive oil. Melt over medium heat. Add onion, celery, red pepper (I sautéed these 3 ingredients for a few minutes then added the rest) corn, green chilies, and potatoes. Cook 8 minutes, stirring frequently or until vegetable are tender. Add flour, ancho powder, cayenne, cumin, garlic, salt, and pepper; cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Gradually add the chicken broth, stirring to mix well. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add cream, and cook 5 to 10 minutes, stirring frequently until thickened slightly. Makes 1 quart. I doubled the recipe.

I decided to try the southwestern style corn instead of the niblet corn I loved the black beans in the soup.  If you do not like black beans, I think the soup would still be great using the niblet corn.

I purchased Ortega fire roasted green chilies. I usually buy a different brand but I loved these. They have bits of black from roasting them in them. You know how when opening a can the green chilies are kind of mush. It is so thick. It is impossible to drain. These you can drain 🙂 They just seem fresher and I love anything that says fire roasted!

I guess you are wondering about the pink glasses? Those are my onion goggles and they work! I had when cutting an onion and my eyes are watering like crazy. I just slip these on before I start and no more tears! I purchased mine from a friend who has a Kitchen Store in OK. They have a website, Distinctive Decor. http://www.distinctive-decor.com/ check their site out. They have tons of stuff. I hope to visit their store one day. Here is the link for the onion goggles. http://www.distinctive-decor.com/onion-goggles.html Don’t worry you men out there…they also come in black or white. Just search onion goggles on their website. It is funny when no one knows you have them… and they see you for the first time in them. Ha!

I sautéed the onion, celery and red peppers for a couple of minutes before adding the rest.

Then, I added the green chilies, potatoes and corn. and cooked for 8 minutes.

Right before I added the cream

Ancho Chili Corn Chowder

My Mom's soup pot ♥

I had to share with you my Mom’s soup pot. She always made soup in this pot. See that copper at the bottom? She was the copper police! We had to clean that copper every time we washed it. If not, BIG trouble. I continue to clean that copper every time I wash it. I am scared what she might do if I didn’t 😉 I cherish having that pot and cleaning the copper…it warms my heart!

Relish Food & Life!

4 responses »

  1. I am going to try this tomorrow…..looks fantastic….i am so glad that i found your blog. i am originally from breese so this just warms my heart….my daughter is a friend of your niece the healthy junky!!!!

Leave a Reply

