Jilly’s Cupcake Bar, Pi, Black Bean Soup and Chocolate Chip-Caramel Brownies

Standard

Sorry for 2 soup recipes in a row! So I am also posting a brownie recipe ๐Ÿ™‚

I am not a bean fan especially baked beans or re-fried beans. I cannot take the texture or the look of re-fried beans…yuck! I have found a love for black beans.

I first started liking them in salsa.ย  Then one day I tried Black Bean Soup at a Mexican restaurant. I love that soup and I think it is good for you! I have been craving it lately. I have never made it or found a recipe that I wanted toย  try. Today I received a post on facebook from a food site that I like to visit and this was the recipe. http://www.food.com/recipe/instant-black-bean-soup-42075 It is not the traditional one that you usually get at a Mexican restaurant…but very tasty and easy!

Instant Black Bean Soup

  • 2 (15 ounce) cans black beans, undrained
  • 1/2 cup salsa
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 (8 ounce) can chicken broth
  • 5 tablespoons green onions I did not use…I did not have time but think they would be tasty in there. Some suggested to just use as a garnish.
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons cilantro
  • 1/2-1 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese(shredded)
  • sour cream

Brown the ground beef and drain fat. Add beans, onions, chili powder, salsa, broth and cilantro to soup pot.ย  Bring to a boil then reduce heat and stir while mashing beans. I did not do that…since I do not like smashed beans ๐Ÿ˜ฆย  Simmer over medium low heat 30 minutes to an hour. Top with cheese and sour cream when serving.

My Notes: I added about a 1/2 tsp chili powder andย  1/2 cup of salsa. I added 1 tsp of cumin.

I forgot to include the chili powder and the salsa here.

I like to use Better than Bouillon when a recipe calls for broth.I think it taste better and the first ingredient listed is chicken. You use 1 tsp per 8 ounces of water. You do have to keep refrigerated after opening. It is kind of pricey but I think it is worth it.

If you noticed I use 2 different black beans...that is quite a difference in color.

The Ortega added jalapeno to theirs. I like a little heat so thought I would do one of those and one regular.

I don't understand why the beans are not black like on the label? Anyone know why? I have purchase black beans that are black. I looked on the label and they both said black beans on their ingredient list.

Instant Black Bean Soup

This next recipe is from a tailgating magazine that the Deen Brothers published. I thought Grace would love these brownies and she did ๐Ÿ™‚

Easy Chocolate Chip-Caramel Brownies

  • 2 (16 1/2 oz) rolls of refrigerated chocolate chip cookie dough
  • 3/4 cup caramel ice cream topping
  • 1 (15.5 oz) box fudge supreme brownie mix
  • 1 cup chopped toasted pecans Grace requested to leave them out

Preheat oven 325 F. Spray a 13 x 9 pan with nonstick spray. Press cookie dough evenly into prepared pan. Bake for 15 minutes. Drizzle with caramel topping evenly over cookie layer. Prepare brownie mix according to package directions. Stir in pecans. Spoon brownie mixture over caramel. Bake for 40 – 45 minutes or until center of pan is set. Let cool completely before cutting.

Easy Chocolate Chip-Caramel Brownie

I took Mark to St. Louis today to show him the granite I picked out for the counter tops. He LOVED it ๐Ÿ™‚ย  We decided to stop by Jilly’s Cupcake Bar to pick up some cupcakes for the pharmacy. Samantha has always raved about the cupcakes there. They are gorgeous, huge, delicious and I love the name of the place ๐Ÿ˜‰

Jilly’s Cupcake Bar is located on Delmar. If you take 170 off of 64 and then get off at Delmar. Take a right onto Delmar. I think there is a stoplight and then it is on your left in a strip mall. They also have a breakfast and lunch menu that look pretty good. We had already decideded to go to Pi. Next time I will have lunch there. http://jillyscupcakebar.com

So pretty!

Heath, Reese's Pieces, Bee Sting and Carrot Cake

Pi is a great place for pizza. You might remember when President Obama was in St. Louis that was the pizza he requested to have. The owner of Pi also flew to the White House and made pizza for him there. It is one of our family favorites. It has a cornmeal crust that is delish! Unfortunately I do no have any photos to share with you of Pi. They are located on Delmar as well but further down. They have recently opened other locations.ย  Here is their website. http://restaurantpi.com/

Relish Food & Life ๐Ÿ™‚

10 responses »

  1. That soup looks great Jill! Love black bean soup. I am making both of those recipes. I have been wanting to go to Jilly’s cupcake bar. Are they serving lunch items too now? I thought I heard that.

  2. Haven’t tried the better than bouillon. Is it better flavored than the Kitchen Basics stock? And how long does it last in the fridge? My only problem is sometimes I use part of a box of Kitchen Basics then forget about it in the fridge and end up throwing away funky stock.

  3. Love the recipes, Jill, especially the sweet ones! I have a soup pot from my Mom also, and everything that comes out of that pot always has a little extra love. Love the blog!

    Regina

  4. Jill…Meredith and I made this gor dinner. It was a great meal to cook together and we both loved it. Meredith thinks it taste like a naked buritto.

Leave a Reply

