No longer afraid of Lemongrass!

Standard

First thing that I want to share is…I had leftover Black Bean Soup and made Nachos. They were really good.

I have grown lemongrass for the past couple of years and have been scared to use it in a recipe. Today…I conquered my fear. If you are looking for a fast growing annual that gets huge, lemongrass is for you. Plus you can use it in cooking.

To use in recipes you have to peel layers until it is tender

Lemongrass all peeled and ready to use. I just had to process it in a processor. Some recipes say to bang it with a meat mallet to release the flavor.

I have a bookmark file on my computer, Recipes to Try and this one has been in it for a while. I decided today was the day. To tell you the truth I was a little scared how this recipe is going to turn out. It was pretty tasty. It was a little peppery. I will use less next time and skip the dried red pepper. Mark and I both loved it, just too much pepper.

This is a Thai dish and I remember when Samantha came back from Thailand she could not get food spicy hot enough.

Lemongrass Pepper Chicken

  • 4 chicken breast cut into long strips ( wing can be use, if like chicken wing style) (I used chicken tenders)
  • 7 lemongrass (cut 1 inch)
  • 10 or more lemongrass for grilling
  • 3 tbsp. sugar
  • 1/4 cup light soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 3 tbsp. black pepper
  • 1/3 cup garlic minced
  • 2/3 dried red pepper (not sure what this meant…I used a pinch)

In a food processor, add lemongrass, black pepper and garlic until finely blended. Add soy sauce, light soy sauce, sugar and mix everything very well. If like it spicy..add the red pepper in after it blended.
Put chicken and marinade in a bag and make sure all sides of chicken are coated.
Marinade and  refrigerate for 3 hours or over night for better taste. (I made it in the morning and grill them in around 7 p.m.)
When ready….Thread chicken on lemongrass stalks; place on your grill, cook until chicken are done.

Lemongrass Chicken

Lemongrass is not commonly found in a grocery store around here unless you go to St. Louis. So, if anyone would like to try this recipe or a different recipe with lemon grass in it…please come get some!

I went to the same site to look for a veggie to serve with it. I thought I needed something Asian to go with it. I found this recipe for green beans and they were really good.

Asian style sautéed Green Beans

  • 1Tbs. soy sauce
  • 1Tbs honey
  • 1Tbs unsalted butter
  • 2Tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 12 oz. fresh green beans trimmed
  • kosher salt (I used sea salt)
  • 1Tbs. minced garlic

Combine soy sauce, honey and 1Tbs water in a small dish and sit near the stove.
In a 10″ straight sided saute pan, heat the butter with the olive oil over med-high heat. When the butter is melted,  add green beans and 1/2 tsp salt and toss with tongs to coat well Cook, turning the beans occasionally, until most are well browned, shrunken, and tender, 7-8 mins. The butter in the pan will have turned dark brown.
Reduce heat to low, add the garlic, and cook , stirring constantly with a heatproof rubber spatula,until the garlic is softened and fragrant, 15-20 seconds. Carefully add the soy mixture. Cook, stirring,until the liquid reduces to a glazed consistency that coats the beans, 30-45 secs. Immediately transfer the beans to a serving bowl.

Asian Style Green Beans

It was a tasty meal. If you love love pepper…do what I did tonight. If not, cut the pepper down.

Looking at all my photos….I need to work on my photography skills 😦

2 responses »

  1. I have never cooked with lemon grass either. I did not even know what it looked like! I may have to come over and snatch some to try a recipe with lemongrass 🙂

Leave a Reply

