Foodie Weekend in St. Louie and Oatmeal Pie Recipe :)

Standard

What a busy weekend! 2 Weddings on Saturday, Best of Missouri Market and Taste of St. Louis on Sunday.

Kathy, my sister in law and I met up with Kelly and Erica at the Botanical Gardens. If you have never been to Best of Missouri Mark at Botanical Gardens…you need to go. It is always the first Saturday and Sunday of October. Unfortunately, I brought my camera but forgot my camera memory card 😦 I did take a few photos with my phone to share.

Just the right amount of heat.

Here is their website. It includes their different flavors and recipes to use with their Jams. http://www.spicelifejams.com/

They added Olive Oil to this packet of seasonings and used it as a bread dipper. They also said it is great on fish.

This product is made by Adventures in Spice. http://www.adventuresinspice.com/index.html

First 2 are dips, just add sour cream and mayo. The 3rd one is a pretzel seasoning...it is pretty spicy but good.

This she used over meatballs and shredded pork.

Gringo Salsa can be found in many grocery stores. It is made in O’Fallon, IL. They have a Gringo Chicken Tortilla Soup you make out of their Gringo Black Bean and Corn Salsa…very good and easy. Grace loves this soup. If interested let me know and I will give you the recipe.

I purchased this candleholder at Best of Missouri Market...for $5 🙂

Here are some other places to check out Gooey Louie’s (Gooey Butter Cake) http://www.gooeylouiecake.com/, Kakao Chocolate, they had great Salted Caramel Chocolate that was so good. www.kakaochoclate.com, Kelarts, cool jewelry made out of forks. You can even send them a fork and they will make a pendant out of it for you. Check out their Gallery. www.kelarts.com,  and the last one I am sharing is Cassandra Erin she had some great jewelry www.cassandraerin.com. Look at her From the Heart collection in her gallery. She can press anything that can be drawn or written into a piece of jewelry…even with your own handwriting. I love this!! It is so cool.

This is at the Taste of St. Louis. They had kind of like a Iron Chef contest the whole weekend. This was the grand finale.

Taste of St. Louis

After the day in St. Louis we had to pick up Kate at the airport. We waited in the Cell lot. Here you can wait until they call you and are ready to be picked up. This sign shows you if flights are on time, arrived etc. We felt like we were at the drive in movies 🙂 We just needed popcorn! I had to add this because Kathy did not know about it. So, I thought others may not know about it either.

It was a day full of food and fun.  At the Best of Missouri Markets there are lots of foods and wine to taste and buy along with plants, jewelry and pottery.

At Taste of St. Louis Kathy and I decided on trying; Fish Tacos from Milagro Modern Mexican  http://milagromodernmexican.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=4&Itemid=2 and Lobster Bisque and Pesto Tortellini  from Bravo http://www.bravoitalian.com/ . They were all delicious!

Mater Dei Mothers and Friends  had their quilt bingo last week. We were asked to bring baked goods. Whenever I have to bake a pie for a chicken dinner or bake sale, Oatmeal Pie is the only one I make. I usually double the recipe and make 2.

Many of you may have this recipe but just in case you don’t…here it is!

Oatmeal Pie

  • 3 eggs
  • 2/3 c granulated sugar
  • 1 c light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 c milk
  • 2 T softened butter
  • 2/3 c quick cooking rolled oats, uncooked
  • 2/3 c flaked coconut
  • 1/2 c chopped pecans
  • 10 inch pie shell (I used deep dish)
  • vanilla ice cream (optional)
  • caramel sauce ( optional)

With electric mixer, combine eggs, sugars, vanilla, milk and butter; mix until well blended. Stir in oats, coconut and pecans; stir to mix well. Pour into unbaked pie shell. Bake in preheated 350 F oven for 45 minutes or until pie is set and lightly brown.

I forgot the milk on this photo

Right before I pop it into the oven

Oatmeal Pie

If you love coconut, pecans and oatmeal, you are in for a real treat. This pie is served at the  House of Plenty in Highland, IL. I found the recipe in the Clinton County Showcase cookbook.  I have been making it for years and it is a favorite. I have been told when I bring them to the chicken dinners they are the first ones to go.

Relish Food & Life!

3 responses »

  1. The market was definitely fun on Sunday! When I had to pick up Andy at the airport two weekends ago, some worker told me to park in the cell phone lot. I was like what are you talking about mister. Now I know what he is talking about lol! Thanks for the info Jill!

  2. Pingback: My First Give Away and Apple Pie Crisp! | Relish Food & Life with Jill

  3. Pingback: No Bake Nutter Butter Butterfinger Bars and DIY 3 Tier Stand | Relish Food & Life with Jill

Leave a Reply

