Braised Beef with Sun-dried Tomatoes = YUM!

Standard

Last night was  Mater Dei’s Homecoming parade. Since we would be leaving the house early. I decided to make Braised Beef with Sun-dried Tomatoes this afternoon. I found this recipe in Cooking light magazine several years ago.

I love sun-dried tomatoes. If you have not tried them…you need too! You will love them! Here is a website about sun-dried tomatoes. It is pretty interesting especially the photos on how they are made. http://www.sun-dried-tomatoes.com/photos.html

They also have a page with interesting facts. Did you know it takes twenty pounds of fresh tomatoes to make one pound of sun-dried tomatoes? http://www.sun-dried-tomatoes.com/sun-dried-tomatoes.html

Here is the recipe I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Braised Beef with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 2 lbs. beef stew meat, cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 2 medium onions, vertically sliced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 T flour
  • 1 3/4 cups water
  • 1 cup dry red wine
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 1 cup sun-dried tomatoes, packed without oil, cut into strips
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • 1 T Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 1/2 tsp. fresh rosemary, chopped
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley (optional)

Heat olive oil in large dutch oven over medium heat. Add beef; cook 4 minutes, browning all sides. Add sliced onions; cook for 7 minutes or until onions have softened, stirring occasionally. Add minced garlic; cook 1 minute; stirring frequently. Stir in flour; cook 2 minutes, stirring often.

Stir in water and next 9 ingredients (through bay leaf). Reduce heat to medium-low; cover and simmer 1 hour. Uncover and simmer 30 minutes or until beef is tender. Discard bay leaf. Sprinkle with each serving with parsley if desired.

 

Just before simmering for an hour

 

 

After it has simmered an hour

 

 

Braised Beef with Sun-dried Tomatoes = YUM!

 

This is really good with mashed potatoes or noodles!

There were 2 herbs in this dish. Below are photos of my plants of those herbs. I have a lot of herbs growing in my landscaping. It makes me sad that when we have a hard freeze they will be gone.  I need to make Pesto ASAP out of my basil. The cold nights are not doing it any good. I just have not had the time. Hopefully next week!

 

One of my many rosemary plants. They look great in the landscaping and very tasty in dishes. They need to be brought in for the winter or you can purchase new the next year.

 

 

This is my bay leaf plant. I had dried in the photo. Then I remembered I had fresh 😦 These get huge in CA. The fresh plants are hard to find in this area. I believe I found mine in O'Fallon at Market Basket.

 

When Grace came home from school, she said “what is cooking…smells good”. Even though she picks out the onions and tomatoes…she loves it. It makes me happy that she will pick the things out she does not like instead of saying she will not eat something because onions or whatever are in it. All of my girls did that…or they would have starved 😉 Sam and Kate will now eat or try anything, Grace will get there. Heck Sam ate crickets in Thailand. I am not sure if I could have done that!

Relish Food & Life!

2 responses »

  1. Looks amazing I might have to try this one. I’ve never cooked with sun dried tomatoes before. Thanks again Jill for this its awesome!!

Leave a Reply

