Reminiscing through Cookbooks :)

Standard

I packed up my cookbooks yesterday…yep 11 of those boxes are cookbooks 🙂

It was fun looking at all of them. I would see one then remember a recipe that I had forgotten about. I came across this cookbook. Mark gave it to me Christmas 1989. There is a recipe in there that I use to make regularly, Brown Sugar Pear Tart. Since pears are in season and I had 3,  I thought I would share this recipe

I decided to take a quick break from packing up and do a little baking.

Brown Sugar Pear Tart

Pecan Crust

  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped pecans
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp grated lemon peel
  • 2/3 cup margarine or butter, softened

Heat oven to 375 F. Mix all ingredients except butter; cut in butter until crumbly. Press firmly and evenly against bottom and side of ungreased 12 inch pizza pan. Bake 8 minutes.

  • 3 or 4 medium pears, peeled
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 TBS all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 Tbs. butter or margarine

Cut each pear lengthwise into halves; remove core. Place each pear half, cut side down on cutting surface. Cut crosswise into thin slices. With spatula, lift each pear half and arrange on crust, separating and overlapping slices (to retain pear shape) to cover surface of crust.

Mix brown sugar, flour, cinnamon and butter; sprinkle over pears. Bake until crust is golden brown and pears are tender, 15 – 20 minutes. Optional: serve with a scoop of ice cream. Now that I think about it, drizzled with caramel might be good also!

 

I could have done a lot better of job positioning and slicing them.

 

 

The topping covers up a whole lot of mistakes 🙂

 

 

Brown Sugar Pear Tart

 

You really have to be careful when positioning those pears. Once you place one on crust…it is hard to move. I remembered that after placing the first pear 😦  It still turned out yummy!

Well..back to packing up the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

