Balsamic Roasted Chicken and Onions

Standard

I found this recipe on the internet and I cannot remember where. It is one of our favorites.

Balsamic Roasted Chicken and Onions

  • 1 5 – 6 lb. whole chicken ( The chickens are skinny in Clinton County! I used a 3 1/2 lb. chicken)
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped fresh rosemary
  • 2 Tbsp. sea salt
  • 3 garlic cloves minced ( I used a little bit more. I tend to use more garlic than recipes call for.)
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh ground black pepper
  • 2 red onions, chopped
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup red wine

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Clean chicken, rinse and pat dry. In a small dish combine rosemary, salt, garlic and pepper. Rub this mixture all over the chicken inside and out. Cover the chicken and place in refrigerator. Let sit for at least 1 hour or up to 24 hours.

Place the onions in bottom of the pan. Then place the whole bird on top of onions. Pour over the vinegar and then the wine over the chicken. Roast in oven until done. Approximately 20 minutes per lb. Internal temperature should be 165 F.

Carve and serve with the balsamic onion mixture from the bottom of the pan.

Peeling garlic: lay flat side of knife on top of garlic and give it a whack!

Now it is easy to peel!

I have a new gadget. It is called Garlic Twist. I seen it in a cooking magazine and went on the hunt to find one. I found mine in the Lake of Ozarks but you can purchase them online. http://www.amazon.com/GARLIC-TWIST-CRUSHER-MINCER-PEELER/dp/B000FT3ZHG .

Garlic Twist

Put a clove on each side.

Put top on and twist top one way and bottom the other way. It only takes a few twists.

It works great. My only thing I do not like it is a little hard to get all the garlic out of there.

Mix together the salt, pepper, garlic and rosemary.

Rub mixture all over the chicken including the inside, outside and under the skin.

Put it in frig in a sealed container and let sit for at least 1 hour and up to 24 hours.

Sometimes I chop by hand and other times I use this chopper.You can get out a lot of frustrations pounding down on this baby 😉

Put onions on the bottom of pan and place chicken on top of onions.

Pour the vinegar on top of chicken.

Then the wine..I used Cabernet

Ready to pop into the oven...after about the 30 minutes the aroma in the kitchen is wonderful!

These onions are so good!

 

Balsamic Roasted Chicken and Onions

I usually serve this with mashed potatoes. I love putting a scoop of onions on top of them 🙂

My Mom always made homemade mashed potatoes. She would hand mash them with a old metal potato masher. They were kind of lumpy. I loved them. I usually make them that way. Mark’s mom always made really smooth mashed potatoes. I believe he prefers them them smooth (like instant) 😉  Every once in a while I get the mixer out and make smooth ones for him;)

**It is suppose to say Mashed Potatoes on the poll below. I changed it earlier but I guess it did not save it!

2 responses »

  1. Love the poll Jill and all those gadgets. I need to get that garlic crusher. How cool! This recipe looks great, except I would used hormone free/grass fed/organic chicken 🙂 I’m picky when it comes to meat. It can get pricey at times hence the reason I do alot of meatless meals…..good for the heart too!

    • I agree with Erica, natural chicken is the way to go. I was going to mention that maybe they’re small because they are not pumped up with hormones and all that junk to make bigger. But then again you probably got them from Super Valu..wooho!

Leave a Reply

