Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Grilled Pork Chops

Standard

Did anyone blow away last night? WOW. They said on the news that the winds were up to 78 mph…hurricane strength. I know I did not sleep all night!

I am trying to get all my favorites in before….NO OVEN! It is starting to hit me that I will not have a kitchen for a while. It also worries me what in the heck will I cook for the blog…yikes! I will just have do some creative cooking πŸ˜€

We are packing up the cabinets and removing them this week. The good news is I found a bunch of Little Auggie’s coupons! I have enough for a couple of free pizza’s πŸ˜‰

I have never been a fan of sweet potatoes! You know the ones they make at thanksgiving that are mashed with marshmallows on them 😦 I also do not like them baked with butter and brown sugar on them. They are just too sweet for me! So I have always thought I hated sweet potatoes…period…Until I made these. It is the perfect combination of savory and sweet. If you hate or love the traditional sweet potatoes, you will LOVE these (unless your name is Grace T.)!

Roasted Sweet Potatoes

  • 2 pounds Sweet Potatoes, Peeled And Diced
  • β…“ cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 Onion, Diced
  • 2 packages (1 Oz. Each) Dry Onion Soup Mix

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. In a large bowl, toss all ingredients together until well coated. Arrange potatoes on a large baking sheet. Bake for 40 to 50 minutes until potatoes are tender, stirring occasionally.

You can slice or dice the onions.

Ready for the oven!

Roasted Sweet Potatoes! Psst... Eryn, love my new spoon!

I picked up a steak seasoning from Straub’s market in St. Louis and I love it! It is called Citizen Kane’s steak seasoning. They have a restaurant in Kirkwood, Mo. It is on my to go to list. http://citizenkanes.com/ . Has anyone been there before? I have never tried this seasoning on steak even though that is what is for. I use it on pork chops and I think I have even sprinkled it on green beans before. We love it. I decided to make pork chops with the sweet potatoes. It is super easy and fast if you don’t have a lot of time.

Sprinkle seasoning on both sides

Grill approximately 8 minutes on each side. After done Mark always covers the meat he grills with foil for 5 minutes to let it rest.

This is one of Grace’s favs!

Back to Straubs! It is a fun market to visit. They have several locations in St. Louis. It is the only place I have seen the Citizen Kane’s seasoning. They have a lot of fun things that you cannot find around here. Check them out sometime. http://www.straubs.com/ . I am down to my last bottle of Citizen Kane’s. I will be heading there in the next few months. If you would like me to pick you up a bottle…let me know! I believe they are 4.99 a bottle. I really should try it on steak sometime πŸ˜‰

Back to packing!

4 responses »

  1. When I read the title, I was thinking you didn’t like sweet potatoes so why is she making them ha. Glad you like them now:)

  2. Phil and the rest of my family didn’t want me to make this sweet potato recipe~ they wanted the traditional recipe. It sounded so good that I made it the following week and didn’t tell Phil what I was doing. We both absolutely LOVED it……….thanks for sharing Jill!

Leave a Reply

