Day 2 of Kitchen overhaul, Artichoke Crescent Rolls and Apple Fritter Cakes

Standard

The overhaul has begun!

Here is my temporary kitchen in the BARN!

Yes, that is a deer in my temp. kitchen!

Yes, that is another one! I am thinking I should name them since we are going to be hanging out together!

My spices!

My can goods! Not too crazy about the skulls! I think this could be considered a REDNECK KITCHEN! HA! I didn't show you the turkey feathers!

Actually, I am very thankful to have this area for a temporary kitchen.

I made this appetizer a few weeks ago and I thought it was pretty tasty…But then again what is not good in crescent rolls? The only thing I would do different is make it a little spicier. I did add some red pepper flakes. Next time I will add some chopped jalapenos and they will be perfect.

Artichoke Crescent Roll Appetizers

  • 2 (8 ounce) cans refrigerated crescent dinner rolls
  • 3/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 3/4 cup grated romano cheese
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 crushed garlic cloves, chopped finely
  • 1 (14 ounce) can artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
  • 1 (4 ounce) can green chilies
  • 1 teaspoon italian seasoning
  • grated parmesan cheese
  1. Mix all ingredients except crescents.
  2. Unroll the triangles and cut in half so you have 32 triangles.
  3. You`ll be cutting from the wide side through the narrow point.
  4. Or how many crescents you have in a package.
  5. Place 1 ounce (2 tablespoons) of filling into each crescent. ( I could only get about 1 tablespoon in them)
  6. Roll wide side up to thin side.
  7. Sprinkle tops with parmesan grated cheese.
  8. Bake at 375°F for 20 minutes.

I have 3 crescent rolls because that is what the reviews suggested.

This is what I had left doing only 1 Tbsp. and 2 things of crescent rolls. I am not sure what those people were talking about.

I also sprinkled some of the Italian seasoning on top of them.

Artichoke Crescent Roll Appetizers

Like I said they are very tasty I would just spice them up a little. Everyone loved them at the party I took them to.

My friend, Donna said that she made the Cinnamon Bun pancakes and used some cream cheese icing she had in the frig. Her son said they were the Bomb! I think that means good. Donna, thanks for the tip! Since we are talking pancakes…I want to share this next recipe with you that a good friend sent me. I have not tried it yet but, it sounds delish! Jim is also a foodie! I cannot wait to try it. Thanks Jim!

Apple Fritter Cakes with Warm Caramel Sauce

  • FOR THE APPLE FRITTER CAKES:
  • 2 whole Large Apples, Any Variety
  • ½ cup Whole Milk
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1-½ cup All-purpose Flour
  • ¼ cup Granulated Sugar
  • ¼ teaspoons Salt
  • ½ teaspoon Baking Powder
  • ¼ teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 4 Tablespoons Butter (For Frying)
  • _____
  • FOR THE WARM CARAMEL SAUCE:
  • ½ cup Butter
  • 1 cup Packed Brown Sugar
  • ¼ cup Heavy Cream Or Whole Milk
  • 1 dash Salt
  • ½ teaspoon Vanilla Extract

Begin by peeling, coring and grating apples into a large bowl. You should yield approximately 2 cups. (Do not drain the liquid that the apples give off!) Into the apples, stir in milk, eggs and vanilla. Slowly stir in all dry ingredients until combined. Heat a large skillet over medium to medium-high heat. Grease liberally with butter. Drop batter by 1/4 cupfuls onto the hot surface. Once edges have browned, flip to cook the other side (just like making pancakes). Remove hot cakes to a plate and cover with foil. Re-grease the pan with more butter and repeat until all the fritter cakes are cooked.

To make the warm caramel sauce, melt butter and sugar together over medium heat while stirring occasionally. Let mixture simmer lightly until it starts to bubble and look foamy. Cook this for 3-5 minutes. Stir in milk, salt and vanilla. Turn burner off, but leave caramel sauce on the hot stove until ready to serve. Pour into a serving dish and serve with apple fritter cakes.

Cooking in the crock pot tomorrow, an Asian style pulled pork…stay tuned!

Relish!

Leave a Reply

