Mom’s Coffee Cake♥

Standard

It has been a crazy week.  All the floor is in, bathroom is almost completed, and they hung my 2 chandeliers in the kitchen 🙂

My chandeliers...aren't they gorgeous!

I have big plans for this spot...but not going to tell you until it is in 😉 So stay tuned!

Samantha is home and we are heading to “Deer Camp” today. Mark, Kate and Grace are hunting. Kate shot a buck this morning. The other 2 are hopeful to get one this afternoon.

I decided to make my Mom’s famous (well, it is famous in our family) Coffee Cake and take it to “Deer Camp”. She would always make this when we visited. She passed away almost 11 years ago and I miss her dearly. I think of her every time I make it.

Mom’s Coffee Cake

  • 4 whole Eggs
  • 1 cup Water
  • ⅔ cups Vegetable Oil
  • 2 boxes (9 Oz.) Jiffy Yellow Cake Mix
  • 2 packages (3.4 Oz.) Instant Vanilla Pudding
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 3 teaspoons Cinnamon

Beat the eggs, water and oil, then add dry cake mix and dry pudding. Pour into a greased 9 x 13 pan. Cover the top with sugar and sprinkle with cinnamon. Run a knife through the batter to sort of mix in the sugar and cinnamon.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40 to 45 minutes until done. YUM.

Someone asked me, can you use a different cake mix. Yes, you can. My Mom always used Jiffy and it was great...so that is what I use.

Mix wet ingredients with mixer then add dry except for sugar and cinnamon.

Spray 9 x 13 with Pam.

Pour batter into pan.

Sprinkle with sugar

Sprinkle with cinnamon...I really do not measure this.

Run knife through it.

Pop into the oven.

The crispy sugar and cinnamon on the top is the best! It is so moist. Everyone will love it!

Mom's Coffee Cake!

I have her recipe in her handwriting….I cherish it. For those out there and have your Mom still with you. HAVE HER WRITE OUT YOUR FAVORITE RECIPES! Sorry for the caps but…I wanted to stress how important this is. You will be forever grateful that you have them. I also have the pan that she always made her coffee cake in. It still has her sticker that she put on the pan.♥

♥♥♥

Miss You ♥

Sam and I are off for a pedicure with the group going to New York for Josh’s wedding. Then we are heading to “Deer Camp”. Where there will be a nice bon fire with much laughter, margaritas and a new dip I made today, Chicken Taco Dip! I will post the recipe if it is a thumbs up…soon!

Relish Food & Life!

4 responses »

  1. I made the coffee cake last night and took it to work today. We are all enjoying it … and it’s oh so easy! Thanks for the recipe.

    Is the “secret spot” going to be for a flat screen of some sort?
    As long as you don’t hang a deer head there.

Leave a Reply

