Brrr…time to make Tomato Basil Soup!

Standard

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving! I know I sure did. All my girls were home 😀 We went to my cousin Stephanie’s house. It was filled with great food and family. Perfect. Then we went to Mark’s parents home. There we relished on leftovers, played games and scanned over the sale ads! The next morning a bunch of Timmermann Girls headed out shopping at 7:00 AM and returned at 11 PM…exhausted!

Tomorrow is a BIG day!!! My cabinets and appliances are being delivered!!!!! Yippeee!! I do not have any photos. Everything looks the same right now. BUT I should have some after I get back from New York.

Today is a perfect day for a bowl of soup! I decided to make Tomato Basil Soup. I have made this several times. It is one of Mark’s favorites. The recipe came out of Saint Louis Days St. Louis Nights by Junior League of St. Louis Cookbook.  A long time ago Breese Junior Womens Club went shopping and I bought this book. I was pregnant with Grace. I had terrible morning sickness. I know this is crazy…but whenever I look at that book…it comes all back to me! Yuck!

Tomato Basil Soup

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 14 oz can chopped or diced tomatoes
  • 2 14 1/2 ounce cans chicken broth
  • 2 tsp. dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper

In a saucepan, heat olive oil. Saute onions and garlic. Stir in flour.
Add remaining ingredients. Blend well with a wire whisk. Simmer for 30 minutes. Pour into a food processor and puree until smooth. Pour back into pan until ready to serve.. Even better if made the day ahead.

Note: I usually use crushed tomatoes and use my hand blender to blend.You need to blend if you don’t mind it a tiny bit chunky. I add more basil and garlic….probably more like heaping teaspoonfuls. I doubled the recipe today.

I use crushed instead of diced. I love this brand.

Look at those fire roasted pieces in there…♥ Yum

Saute Garlic and onions

Add flour

Add everything  else

I use this hand blender instead of food processor. It was my Mom’s. She passed away 11 years ago and she had it for several years before that. Now you can find these everywhere. She was ahead of her time with this kitchen tool 😉

If using crushed tomatoes you really do not need to blend it or put in a food processor. I do like to make it a little smoother so the onion are not so chunky in there. It is not completely smooth after I do this. If you are ok with diced onions in there… no need to blend it. That is only if you use crushed tomatoes.

Tomato Basil Soup…it is even better the next day!

Thursday Mark and I are heading to New York for a wedding. It should be lots of fun. I am super excited because Cake Boss is making the cake! I will take a photo of it to share with you. On Saturday a group of us from Breese are taking a Winery, Distillery and Brewery tasting  tour in NY. Lots to share with you when I get back….especially the kitchen update!

Relish Food & Life!!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Artichoke Lasagna | Relish Food & Life with Jill

Leave a Reply

