Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus

Standard

Just so you know…the Mac and Cheese is even good cold. I had to have a bite the next morning!

I have a confession to make! We are having Comprehensive Care Pharmacy Christmas party here Saturday night. We play rob your neighbor. I purchase all the gifts and no one knows what they are. I bought a cookbook through Amazon to give as one of the gifts…..they are not getting it! Sorry! Too many recipes I want to try in there. CCRx girls, you can borrow it 😀

See all those yellow sticky notes? Yep, I want to try all those.

The next recipe I am dying to try is Almond Strata. It sounds wonderful. I plan on making SOON. I know I just posted an almond recipe, but I have to try this. So stay tuned.

I went to Super Valu tonight to figure out something for dinner. I seen they had some good-looking asparagus and remembered the recipe in the cookbook. I had prosciutto and Asiago in the frig. So, I had to make it.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus

  • I bunch asparagus, trimmed
  • 4 ounces thinly sliced prosciutto, cut into halves
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/2 tsp Greek Seasoning (I used my fav…Cavender’s seasoning)
  • 1/2 cup grated Asiago cheese

Place the asparagus in the rack of a steam pot. Steam over boiling water for 3 to 4 minutes. Arrange the asparagus in bundles of 3 or 4 spears. Wrap one half slice of prosciutto around each bundle.

Arrange the bundles seam side down in a 9 x 13 baking dish. Drizzle with the lemon juice and olive oil. Sprinkle with Greek seasoning and cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes or until the cheese melts.

I need a photographer! I stink at taking the photos. I put 2 lemons in photo by accident.

Ready to be steamed.

Steamed.

My spears were tiny, so I put more in a bundle than suggested.

All ready to go in the oven.

Proscuitto-Wrapped Asparagus = Yum!

I did not make the whole bunch. When Mark seen what I was making, he stated you aren’t going to make that whole bunch are you. He is not an asparagus fan. He will eat it, but would prefer something else. So, I didn’t. We could have eaten the whole bunch. I really did not measure anything as listed in the recipe. If you do not have or cannot find Asiago, I think Parmesan cheese would be tasty as well.

Relish Food & Life!

One response »

  1. Looks good! I have another variation on this where you don’t cook the asparagus, put slice of hard fontina in the bundle and wrap it in the prosciutto with a couple little slices of cheese for decoration on top. Butter dabbed over all plus pour some white wine around and roast. (One of the dishes I made for my first ever dinner party when we moved to Vossclare.) This looks easier and tasty too.

Leave a Reply

