Grace said “Today feels like a soup day!”…So I made her favorite soup. Creamy Chicken Noodle

Standard

It is COLD in Breese! Grace said “Today feels like a soup day!”…boy was she right. Unfortunately, I have a feeling the next several days will feel like soup days 😦

I received this recipe from my sister in law, Jean. It is Grace’s absolutely favorite soup. It is extremely easy. Below is the original recipe given to me. I will add notes on what I did.

Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup

  • 2 quarts of water
  • 8 chicken bouillon cubes
  • 6 1/2 cups uncooked wide egg noodles
  • 2 cans condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 3 cups cooked chicken
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • Minced fresh parsley (I did not add this)

In a soup pot bring water and bouillon cubes to a boil. Add noodles. Cook uncovered until tender about 10 minutes. Do not drain. Add soup and chicken; cook until heated through. Remove from heat and stir in sour cream and parsley.

I sprinkle the chicken with greek and cajun seasoning and then cooked it in the microwave.

Chicken is cook. I added the liquid at the bottom to the soup.

I did not use the cubes. I used the Better than Bouillon.

Noodles were added when the above started boiling. I cooked them for 10 minutes.

Add the chicken and the cream of chicken soup.

Before adding sour cream. I added 1 tablespoon of dried basil and pepper to taste. I always rub dried herbs between my fingers before using. I believe it releases more flavor.

Ready to eat!

Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup

I usually put in the whole bag of noodles and make too much chicken. Therefore, I need more juice! It is an easy fix. You just add more broth (either making it with Better than Bouillon or Bouillon Cubes) and cream of chicken soup or just broth. It is hard to mess up this soup. This soup gets thick, especially the next day. I am not a thick soup person. I always add more chicken broth before reheating it…only broth. I usually have a can or box of chicken broth on hand. I will use that instead of Better than Bouillon. I keep it in the frig and add when necessary.

What should I make next…Mexican or Italian? Comment to cast your vote 🙂

Relish Food & Life!

4 responses »

  1. Personally I am always a sucker for Italian. I go through Parmesan like water! Chicken Piccato, or Saltimbocca or Tetrazzini are always go-to recipes for me.

Leave a Reply

