A quick and tasty pasta dish ~ Chicken Pasta with Sun- Dried Tomatoes

Standard

Here is a quick and easy pasta dish for you to try. If you have not tried sun-dried tomatoes…you should. They have a great flavor.

Chicken Pasta with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

  • 2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 shallots, minced
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast, cooked and diced or julienned
  • 8 ozs. sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, drained ( I purchased julienne cut)
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 16 ozs. penne pasta, cook al dente
  • 1 T unsalted butter, melted (I did not melt it, I let it melt in the pasta)
  • 4 T freshly grated parmesan cheese ( I used more)
  • 3 T chopped fresh basil ( I used dried. When using dried instead of fresh herbs you will use less. I used about 1 T. dried basil)
  • pinch of red pepper flakes

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add shallots and saute 2 minutes or until soft. Add Chicken and tomatoes and cook 2 minutes. Stir in cream. Cook an additional 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Toss pasta, butter, salt, Parmesan and basil. Then toss in sauce. Serve immediately.

I cooked the chicken in the microwave. When I do this I sometimes sprinkle it with a seasoning that will go with the dish. This dish will be still be very tasty skipping the seasoning.

This is the seasoning I used. It is a blend of italian herbs.

I purchased this seasoning at Penzeys Spices. There is one in St. Louis. If you have not been there, it is a must! You walk in and the smell all these different herbs and spices hit you. It is wonderful.  http://www.penzeys.com/

Saute the shallots in the olive oil. Shallots have the flavor of onion and garlic....a great combination 🙂 You can find them usually by the garlic.

Added the chicken and sun-dried tomatoes.

Then add the cream. I used more than what was called for. I had some left in the container and poured that in also. I probably added 1/2 cup more. I then cooked it a little longer.

Tossed the basil, butter, salt and parmesan cheese. Then tossed in the sauce.

Do not rinse the pasta. The only time you should rinse the pasta is when using it in a cold salad. Rinsing the pasta will rinse away the starch that was released when the noodles cooked and that starch will help the sauce bind to the noodles.

 

 

Chicken Pasta with Sun-dried Tomatoes

There is a cheerleading competition tomorrow to qualify for state. Please say a quick prayer for them. One of girls on Grace’s team got hurt last night and cannot compete. (Prayers out to her for a quick recovery) Which means re-working the routine today! Grace and others are having to do some things they were not doing before. I know that they will pull together and do a great job…but a few extra prayers wouldn’t hurt 😉

Relish Food & Life!

 

3 responses »

  1. I love tomato cream sauces! You inspired me to look Penzey’s up again and discovered a store not too far away in the SoCal metroplex, especially on a trip to see Corinne up at LMU. I love their blends, but don’t think of them until it is too late for anything short of instantaneous delivery.

Leave a Reply

