~Spinach Salad~

Standard

Samantha called the other day and asked for this recipe. I had not made it in a while and had the ingredients on hand, so I made it for lunch today. It is really good and easy.

Spinach Salad

  • 1 bag fresh spinach
  • 3 hard-boiled eggs
  • 10 slices bacon, crisply cooked and crumbled
  • 1 can sliced water chestnuts, drained

Dressing:

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 T Ketchup
  • 2 T red wine vinegar
  • 2 T bottled Italian salad dressing
  • 1 T Worcestershire sauce
  • salt to taste

Thoroughly clean spinach, discarding stems. Tear into bite size pieces. Chop eggs (I sliced) and combine with spinach, bacon and water chestnuts.

Combine all dressing ingredients in a jar. Shake thoroughly to combine well. Toss with spinach just before serving. Dressing can be made several hours ahead of time.

 

These are the ingredients for the dressing. Use whatever Italian dressing you have in the frig...vinegar and oil type.

Put all the ingredients into something you can shake. Shake until ingredients are all combined well.

Spinach Salad

I had a bag of spinach mixed with other lettuces in the frig. I used that. It turned out fine, but I prefer spinach only. I did not have any water chestnuts so I did not add them.

This recipe came from Celebrate San Antonio by The San Antonio Junior Forum. That is one place I want to visit. Has anyone been there before? If so, what are some must see, do and taste that I need to know about for when I visit?

~Relish Food & Life

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Great recipes, Jill. I noticed you microwave chicken breast for a lot of these recipes. It always looks like it is so tender. How long do you cook it and do you always spice it before you microwave? Mine never seems to turn out right. San Antonio is a beautiful city with wonderful, friendly people. All you need to do is visit the Riverwalk area and everything you would want is right there.

    • Hi Regina,

      If a recipe calls for cooked chicken, I usually microwave it. It may bot be the best way, but easiest for me. I cook it in a covered casserole dish. I start at 4 minutes and then add minutes until no longer pink. A lot of the times I do add a seasoning to it before cooking. I usually pick a seasoning that will go good with the dish. Sometimes I just add Cajun seasoning to spice it up a bit.

      Thanks for the San Antonio info. Do you have any favorite places to stay or eat 🙂

Leave a Reply

