I LOVE Fish tacos :D

Standard

I found my love for fish tacos in California while visiting Sarah, Jim and Corrine. Whenever I see them on a menu, I order them! I found this recipe on food.com. It is really easy and very tasty. Grace even likes them 🙂

Fish Tacos

  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 package taco seasoning mix, divided
  • 1 lb cod or 1 lb white fish fillet, cut into 1 inch pieces (about 4) (I use tilapia)
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice I use lime juice.
  • flour tortillas or taco shells

Toppings ~ choose whatever you want to top it with.

  • shredded cabbage or lettuce
  • chopped tomato
  • lime juice
  • salsa
  • taco sauce
  • shredded cheese
  • avocado
  • green onions (this would be good added to the sauce)

Combine sour cream, mayonnaise, cilantro and 2 tablespoons seasoning mix in small bowl.

Combine fish, vegetable oil, lemon juice and remaining taco seasoning mix and toss in a medium bowl; pour into skillet.

Cook, stirring constantly, over medium high heat for 4 to 5 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork.

Fill tortillas with fish and desired toppings.

Mix sauce ingredients together. I added a few jalapenos to give it a little kick.
Put in frig until ready to use.

Roll limes back and forth firmly on the counter. This will prepare the limes to release more juice.

This is a handy tool for juicing limes. It is amazing how much more juice you get out of a lime.

This is the first time I cut the fish into 2 inch squares. A BIG NO NO with Tilapia. I usually cut them in half lengthwise into long strips and flip them once. Tonight was the first time I noticed it said to cut them into 2 inch squares and constantly stir them. It was mush! Mark said presentation stinks but tasted good.

Combine ingredients oil, lime juice and taco seasoning. Toss with fish.

I usually put it in a bag and use my hands to make sure the marinade distributes over everything. Do not marinate over a half an hour...the lime juice will cook the fish.

I usually cook the strips in my cast iron skillet or grill it on my grill pan.

Look at the bottom right bowl....mush! I have made this a bunch of times in strips with tilapia..I will not make it in chunks and stir it continuously again! It was good...but I prefer it the other way.

Fish Tacos

I know that fish tacos are not around here too much. I think you will like the recipe if you give it a whirl 🙂

Relish Food & Life!

7 responses »

  1. I am going to try this for sure. I also LOVE fish tacos, but not when the fish is deep fried. Can’t wait to try this one. Thanks Jill!

  2. I love fish tacos… I like to blacken my fish for the tacos and I normally top with a creamy coleslaw. I will try this receipe soon.

  3. Fish tacos were on the menu for us just a few days ago!! Love the juicer, I picked up one myself and love it! Great for gimlets and margaritas!!

    • Please share your Fish Taco recipe! I am always wanting to try them different ways 🙂

      Also Share your gimlet recipe…I found a love for those at Book Club 😉 I want to see if it is the same as the one I made there. They made them in the book we were reading. We always make a drink and food to go with the book;) You would love it!

      • True confessions: with Senor Baja’s five minutes away and offering up 99 cent fish tacos on Wednesdays, I haven’t made them in a while. But I use Mexican Crema for the white stuff, beer-battered fried fish, and grated cabbage with squeeze of lime and rioja sauce when I do go for it.

        Gimlets are easy: gin or vodka about 3 ounces to juice of one lime (Using the squeezer, two limes, if not) plus agave syrup to taste. I don’t use any, as I like it tart, most people I use 1/4 to 1/2 ounce. Key is fresh juice. It’s like the difference between homemade lemonade and Country Time.

      • HA! I had a feeling they were from Senor Baja’s….I believe that is where I had my first Fish Taco 😉 They were yummy and don’t blame you for getting them there.

        I shall try your Gimlet…my recipe was out of our novel we were reading. It called for Rose’s Lime juice.

Leave a Reply

