Cheesecake Sopapillas

Standard

I have made this recipe 3 times in the last month. It really easy and tasty.

Cheesecake Sopapillas

  • 2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar, divided ( I missed that word DIVIDED…It turned out really good. )
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 (8 ounce) packages refrigerated crescent dinner rolls
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly coat 13x9x2 inch baking pan with cooking spray. Set aside.
    In small mixing bowl, beat cream cheese, 1 cup of the sugar and vanilla with electric mixer on medium speed until fluffy.
    Unroll 1 package crescent rolls. Do not separate rolls. Place dough in bottom of baking pan pressing perforations together. Spread cream cheese mixture over dough. Unroll second package of rolls. Do not separate rolls. Press perforations together; place dough on top of cream cheese mixture. Crimp edges to seal.
    Drizzle with butter. In small bowl stir together remaining sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkle on top of dough. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until golden brown. Cool slightly. Cut into squares.

    So, I did not read the direction correctly the first 2 times. I have decided to keep doing it the way I have been doing. Heck, whats a 1/2 cup more sugar. I put 1 1/2 cups in the cream cheese. Then 1/2 cup on top. You will need 2 cups total.

    I forgot to take a photo of the ingredients 😦

    Beat 1 1/2 cup sugar with cream cheese and vanilla.

    Line a greased 9 x 13 pan with 1 can of crescent roll. If you can find the sheet crescent rolls...they work best. I reqested them at Super Valu, so I hope they get them.

    Top with cream cheese mixture.

    Top with the other can of crescent rolls. Seal the edges.

    Drizzle melted butter on top.

    I am going to have two photos of this. This one I sprinkled on 1/2 cup sugar and then the cinnamon.

     

    This one I mixed in the cinnamon with the sugar and then sprinkled it. I finally read the directions.

    Pop it into the oven.

     

    Here is the first one after it has been baked.

    Here is the 2nd one with the sugar and cinnamon mixed. It got much browner and I did it the same time. Both tasted great.

    Cheesecake Sopapillas

    I store in the frig.

    Relish Food & Life 🙂

    4 responses »

    1. Jill, I have made this recipe before. I never had a name for it except cheesecake bars.
      My recipe doesn’t call for the butter. It does turn out real good though. My kids love it.

      • Anna,
        I was looking through a cookbook a friend of mine was putting together for her granddaughter, she had a similar recipe but it had brown sugar and a couple other things in it. She is suppose to send to me. I anxious to try it that. I will pass it on if it is good.
        Jill

    Leave a Reply

    