Italian Sausage Bread Appetizer

Standard

 

Being cooped up has me cooking. Be ready for some recipes this week. This was really good!

Italian Sausage Appetizer Bread

  • 1 pkg. (16 oz.) Johnsonville® Italian All Natural Mild Ground Sausage ( I purchased bulk Italian sausage in the meat department)
  • 1 loaf (1 lb.) frozen white bread dough, thawed
  • 4 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 jar (7 oz.) roasted red peppers, well drained and sliced
  • 1/3 cup Kalamata olives, pitted and sliced (did not add)
  • 2 cups (8 oz.) shredded Swiss cheese
  • 1 tsp. poppy seeds

In a skillet, brown sausage until no longer pink; drain. On a lightly floured surface, roll bread dough to a 16-in. x 12-in. rectangle. Transfer dough to a greased baking sheet. Combine cream cheese and garlic, spread lengthwise over center third of dough. Top with the sausage, peppers, olives and cheese. Fold dough over filling, pinching seam to seal. Make slits across top of dough every 2 inches. Brush lightly with water and sprinkle with poppy seeds. Bake at 400ºF for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Let stand 10 minutes before slicing.

 

Ingredient Line Up!

I added some red pepper flakes to the sausage. Brown; then drain well.

Roll out dough. I used corn meal instead of flour. I just like cornmeal. Flour will work fine. I find it easier to roll out when the dough is not so cold.

Blend cream cheese and garlic together.

Spread cream cheese in the center 1/3 of the dough.

 

Add sausage

 

I decided to add some sun-dried tomatoes that I diced.

I added the pepper, sun-dried tomatoes and then the cheese.

Fold over and seal seams. Makes slits.

Lightly Brush with water.

Sprinkle with poppy seeds and pop it into the oven.

It was a good thing I checked on it when I did...still getting use to the oven.

I was sure glad I had my warmer. Mark was plowing the parking lot and took longer than he thought.

Italian Sausage Appetizer Bread 🙂

 

I did not serve this as an appetizer. I made it for supper and served it with Spinach Salad. It was really good and would make a great appetizer for super bowl 🙂

Kids are out of school again tomorrow. We has been sleeting all day and then it rained. Snow is on its way. Stay safe everyone!

~Relish Food & Life

 

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Oh So Yummy BBQ Chicken Stuffed Bread! | Relish Food & Life with Jill

Leave a Reply

