Chicken Divan and Apple Pie Strata

Standard

When I made tortellini soup the other day, I reminisced  through the cookbook (Simple Pleasures, Junior Welfare Association, Decatur, IL) it came from. I found an oldie but goodie casserole I use to make. I had the ingredients on hand and decided to make it today.

Chicken Divan

  • 1 chicken (31/2 – 4 lb) cooked and cooled (or substitute 4 chicken breasts)
  • 2 -10 oz pkg. broccoli spears, cooked. (I used fresh)
  • 2-10 oz cans cream of chicken soup
  • 1 c mayo
  • 1 c cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. curry powder
  • Parmesan cheese
  • paprika

Mix soup, mayo, cheddar cheese, lemon juice and curry powder. Drain broccoli and arrange in bottom of greased 3 qt. casserole. Sprinkle generously with Parmesan cheese. Skin and bone chicken and bone. Cut into bit size pieces and spread over broccoli. Sprinkle generously again with Parmesan cheese. Pour sauce over all. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and paprika or bread crumbs dotted with butter. Bake at 350 for 30 – 40 minutes.

Ingredient line up.

I used fresh broccoli. I had these Glad Microwave Steam bags and decided to try them out. Wow, that sure was easy.

Mix soup, cheese, mayo, lemon juice and curry together.

I have everything together to start to assembly the casserole. I had some chicken tenders in the freezer, so I used those in recipe.

Layered the broccoli in the casserole dish. Then top with a generous amount of parmesan cheese.

Put the diced chicken on top of broccoli and parmesan cheese; then top with more parmesan,

Top with sauce, parmesan cheese and paprika...in that order. Ready to pop into the oven.

Done.

Chicken Divan

At times,  I feel like this is too saucy. I think really you could half the sauce. I have never tried it, but I think will next time. We all had 2 helpings, so I guess it was pretty good 🙂

This next recipe came from a magazine that I clipped out. I cannot find on it what magazine. It was super easy!

Apple Pie Strata

  • 1-1 pound loaf cinnamon-raisin bread, cut into 1 inch pieces.
  • 8 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • 1 21 oz can apple pie filling
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds, toasted

Place bread pieces in a greased 3 quart rectangular baking dish; set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, salt and almond extract. Stir in apple pie filling and 1/2 of the almonds. Carefully pour egg mixture over the bread. Press down lightly with a rubber spatula to moisten all of the bread. Sprinkle with remaining almonds. Cover and chill 2 to 24 hours.

Preheat oven to 325. Bake, uncovered, about 50 – 60 minutes or until knife inserted into center comes out clean. Let stand for 15 minutes.

Ingredient line up.

The store did not have cinnamon raisin bread, so I just used cinnamon bread. I am not crazy about raisin anyway 😉

Lightly beat eggs

Whisk together eggs, milk, almond extract and salt.

Toast the almonds. I used sliced because that is what I had.

Add apple pie filling and 1/2 of the almonds to the egg mixture.

Pour egg mixture over bread and top with other half of almonds.

It was in the frig for 3 hours and now ready to pop into the oven.

Done.

Apple Pie Strata

I decided to add some caramel on top. It was a yummy addition. I cut three pieces for us tonight. After we ate them, I realized that I did not take a photo. Mark quickly volunteered to eat another piece 😉

Grace is off again tomorrow. This is the 3rd day in a row….what will I make tomorrow?

~Relish Food & Life

Leave a Reply

