Super Bowl Appetizers!

Standard

There will only be one photo per recipe. I have run out of space for photos. I need your input… Do you like having the photos posted? Do they help you with making the recipe? Are you enjoying the blog? I need to make some decisions, so your input would be greatly appreciated 🙂 I love doing this blog and I hope you all are enjoying it as much as I am. I have had 4, 700 views since I started the blog September 16th. Thank you!

Jodi, a friend of mine suggested I post some recipes that you can make for Super Bowl. I thought it was a great idea. I am going to post some recipes that I made for our CCRx Christmas party.

I do not have any exact measurement for this recipe. It is really good, not too spicy and always gets rave reviews.

Stuffed Jalapeno Peppers

  • Cream Cheese (8 oz)
  • Mexican cheese blend ( approximately 2 cups)
  • jalapenos (approximately 12)
  • Bacon, cut slices into half
  • Captain Rodney’s

Cut jalapenos in half, leaving stem in tact. Carefully scrap out seeds (using gloves is a wise idea). Mix cream cheese and mexican cheese blend together. Stuff halves with cream cheese mixture. Wrap with bacon, and place on a broiler pan so the grease will drip down and not make the jalapenos greasy. Bake in a 375 oven until bacon is done. You can even cook the partially before wrapping to speed up cooking. Remove from oven and drizzle with Captain Rodney’s. Those who live in Breese you can purchase Captain Rodney from Beyond the Garden Gate. There is also another great recipe using Captain Rodney’s that they have available there.  Here is what it looks like. http://captainrodneys.com/pr-glazes.html

Bacon Wrapped Stuffed Jalapenos drizzled with a Pepper Glaze

This next recipe I found on Food.com http://www.food.com/recipe/7-layer-b-l-t-dip-100590. It is a great alternative to the BLT dip.

7 Layered BLT Dip

  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup mayo
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup minced lettuce ( I purchase already shredded)
  • 1/4 cup minced water chestnuts (optional)( I did not add)
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 3/4 cup shredded monterey jack cheese (They is a combo package of monterey and cheddar…that is what I used)
  • 8 slices bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled
  • 4 roma tomatoes or grape tomatoes,  chopped
  • 3 green onions, chopped
    1. Combine cream cheese, mayonnaise, sour cream, Parmesan cheese, garlic powder, and salt and pepper to taste in a bowl.
    2. Spread the mixture onto a serving plate.
    3. Mix together the minced lettuce with the water chestnuts (if using).
    4. Top the cream cheese mixture with remaining ingredients, in order: lettuce/water chestnut, the cheeses, cooked and crumbled bacon, chopped tomatoes, and green onions.
    5. Chill for at least 2 hours before serving.
    6. Serve with crackers, bread rounds or pita chips.
    7. Note: you can also mix the water chestnuts into the cream cheese mixture instead of into the lettuce, if you prefer.

    7 layered BLT Dip

    This next appetizer is also very tasty. You can make it the night before. It would also be very tasty on top of grilled chicken or fish. This recipe came out of the Sensational Seasons, The Junior League of Fort Smith, Inc. I love this cookbook…the cover is coming off 😦

    Shoe Peg Corn Dip

    • 1 (15 oz) can shoe peg corn, drained
    • 1 tomato , peel, seeded and diced (I just dice it)
    • 1/2 green pepper, diced
    • 1/2 red pepper, diced
    • 1/2 cucumber, chopped
    • 10 to 15 rip olives, sliced (I do not always add this)
    • 1/2 red onion, diced
    • 3 green onions, chopped
    • 1 jalapeno, chopped to taste
    • 2 T sour cream
    • 2 T chopped cilantro
    • juice of 1 lime
    • seasoned salt and pepper to taste

    Combine all ingredients and mix well. Refrigerate until well chilled. Serve with tortilla chips. Best prepared one day ahead.

    Shoe Peg Corn Dip

    I used a yellow pepper instead green because that is what I had.

    This recipe is a FAV by all! I love Cuban sandwiches. This recipe is a twist on a Cuban sandwich. I found the recipe in a Rachael Ray Magazine. http://www.rachaelraymag.com/recipes/rachael-ray-magazine-recipe-index/appetizer-starter-recipes/Cuban-Toasties You will not be disappointed.

    Cuban Toasties

    • 1½ ounces boiled deli ham slices, finely chopped (1/3 cup)(I use baked ham)
    • 3 ounces shredded Swiss cheese (3/4 cup)
    • 1/3 cup mayonnaise
    • ½ small onion, finely chopped
    • 1½ teaspoons chili sauce
    • 1 teaspoon yellow mustard
    • 1 baguette, cut into 1/3-inch-thick slices, or 5 slices of white sandwich bread, quartered
    • 2 to 3 crisp dill pickles, thinly sliced ( I buy the ones in the Refrigerated section. You can get the sandwich slices and cut them in half)
    1. Preheat the oven to 500°. In a small bowl, stir together the ham, cheese, mayonnaise, onion, chili sauce and mustard.
    2. Arrange the bread slices on a foil-lined baking sheet. Place 2 pickle slices on each slice of bread, then spread about 1 tablespoon of the ham mixture on top. Bake the toasties for 8 to 10 minutes, until golden and bubbly. Cool for a few minutes before serving.

    Cuban Toasties...these are ready to be popped into the oven. Unfortunately, I did not take a photo after they were done. Sorry.

    The last recipe is for you pickle lovers. It is from Tasty Kitchen.  There are several versions of this recipe out there in the internet world…. I like this one http://thepioneerwoman.com/tasty-kitchen/recipes/appetizers-and-snacks/dill-pickle-dip/

    Dill Pickle Dip

    • 16 ounces, weight Sour Cream
    • 1 package Cream Cheese (8 Oz.)
    • Garlic Salt And Garlic Powder To Taste
    • Pickle Juice (add Until Dip Is The Right Consistency)
    • Pickles (Claussen Mini Dills) I used the whole jar)

    Beat sour cream, cream cheese, seasonings. Gradually add pickle juice until you reach your desired consistency. Finally stir in diced dill pickles. Refrigerate for a couple hours or even overnight to enhance the flavor. Serve with rippled potato chips.

    Have a FUN Superbowl Sunday! Who do you hope to win?

    ***Please do not forget to leave your opinion in a comment below or email me ccrx@charter.net …Thanks!

    ~Relish Food & Life

    14 responses »

    1. i am sorry, the photos are the BEST part, like the cookbooks that take you step-by-step!
      please keep showing the process
      you have a folder on my computer!!!
      i will try harder things if i know what they are supposed to be looking like.
      thank you ma’am
      donnab

    2. I love the pictures. Keep them coming. One of my favorite parts about your blog is the fact that I can go back and look up past recipes by category. I love that when I’m not sure what I want to make I can go pursue and find something. I also think the grocery store should buy advertisement on your blog. Has anyone else noticed when Jill posts something the next day they are out or near out of the ingredients she used??? Has happened to me twice!

    3. the picture of the finished product is good for me i am lovin ur blog and i have made lots of ur recipes i am definately gonna make the dill pickle dip for sunday gordy is gonna go crazy for it he loves pickles love ya cousin

    4. I REALLY like your blog and pics. Keep up the good work. The receipes are great and gives me something different to look forward to making.

    5. I love the pictures!!!!! You are such an awesome cook Jill!!!!! I look forward to reading your Blog…….LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! Keep them coming…..can’t wait to see more!!!!!

    6. I really appreciate you sharing your recipes. I have tried several and they are all easy to make and taste great! It is nice to at least see the pictures of the final dish too.

    Leave a Reply

    