Oh So Yummy BBQ Chicken Stuffed Bread!

Standard

Super Bowl Sunday! I decided to make the Italian Sausage Bread that I made last week. I also wanted to make one with chicken. I first was going to do a Buffalo Chicken, but changed my mind at the last minute and made a BBQ Chicken one. After consulting Samantha, because she makes a mean BBQ Chicken Pizza… my BBQ Chicken Stuffed Bread was born….OH MY it was good! I made it the same way as the Italian Sausage Bread just different stuffing. Thanks for the help Sam!

Oh So Yummy BBQ Chicken Stuffed Bread

  • 1 loaf frozen Bread dough, thawed
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 – 1 1/2 lbs. chicken breast, cut into cubes
  • Your fave BBQ Sauce
  • a couple pinches of Red Pepper flakes
  • 1 medium onion, diced or thinly sliced
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • 2 cups Cheese ( I used a combination package of smoked cheddar, Gouda, Provolone and Mozzarella)

I think the photos will be better instructions than me writing them 😉

I do not have the bread dough, chicken and Garlic on here.

Saute chicken until done. I did sprinkle it with some BBQ seasoning as you can see, but I do not think it is neccessary.

Saute onions

Add Brown Sugar to sweeten them up a bit.

They are looking just about done!

Roll out your bead dough on a cornmeal or flour surface. You want it approximate 16 x 12. I feel this is the hardest part! Then mix cream cheese and garlic and spread down center. I was unsure about using the cream cheese...but I liked it.

Top with chicken.

BBQ Sauce

Top BBQ sauce with chopped cilantro and red pepper flakes.

Top BBQ sauce with 2 cups of cheese.

Here is the cheese I used. I purchased this at Trader Joe's. You could use shredded cheddar or Gouda.

Fold over and seal edges. Makes slits. I did spray the pan with Pam.

Here they are both in the oven...yummo!

Slice and ready to serve.

Oh So yummy BBQ Chicken Stuffed Bread

I think next time I might add the BBQ sauce to the chicken in the pan. I don’t know why…because it was good this way. I guess I am thinking it might coat the chicken better.

Pioneer Woman makes a BBQ Chicken Pizza with similar ingredients. It is really good also. Click on her name to see it.

Did you have anything yummy on Super Bowl Sunday? If so, please share 🙂

~Relish Food &Life

2 responses »

  1. What a great substitution. I just purchased that cheese on Sunday at TJ and put it in my chili on Sunday night. Wow, that is some good stuff. Very smokey flavored 🙂

  2. Nice take on the meat stuffed bread. I agree simmering the meat might be nice, but it is hard to argue with a huge BBQ chicken calzone. I sometimes splash a little balsamic on onions when I am trying to carmelize/sweeten them. A heavy apps neighborhood party is coming up to celebrate a retirement, so I am stashing the ideas away for it!

Leave a Reply

