Three Cheese Baked Pasta

Standard

Tonight the Mater Dei Cheerleaders and parents had a potluck. I had a busy day and was scrambling to find something that was quick. I was glad I remembered this recipe.

The recipe came out of Southern Living 40 years of Our Best Recipes Cookbook.

Parenthesis will have what I used.

Three Cheese Baked Pasta

  • 1 (16 oz) package Ziti pasta (Rigatoni)
  • 2 jars (10 oz) jars Alfredo sauce
  • 1 (8oz) sour cream (Lowfat Sour Cream)
  • 1 (15oz) container Ricotta Cheese (Lowfat Ricotta)
  • 2 large eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (I added a little more)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley ( I did not use this, I added 1 T dried basil instead)
  • 1 1/2 cups mozzarella
  • I added pepper and garlic to the recipe

Cook pasta according to package directions, drain and return to pot. Stir together Alfredo  sauce and sour cream; toss with the pasta until evenly coated. Spoon half of the pasta into a lightly greased 13 x 9 baking dish. Stir together ricotta cheese and next three ingredients; spread evenly over pasta mixture. Spoon remaining pasta mixture evenly over ricotta cheese layer; sprinkle with mozzarella cheese. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Cook pasta according to package directions.

Stir together the sour cream and the alfredo sauce. The jars of alfredo I found were 15 oz not 10 oz, so I used one jar and part of another one.

Toss alfredo mixture with the drained pasta. I decided to add some minced garlic.

Put half of pasta in dish

Mix ricotta, eggs, parmesan and basil (or parsley). I also added black pepper.

Spread ricotta mixture on top of pasta.

 

Then top with the other half of pasta. Top with cheese. I did sprinkle a little Parmesan on top along with the mozzarella. (Failed to photograph) Pop it into the oven.

 

Three- Cheese Baked Pasta

I think this would also be good with Italian combination shredded cheese.

~Relish Food & life

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

