Bugle Mix

Standard

It has been a busy weekend. I spent it in Springfield watching Cheerleading Competition. Grace, my youngest daughter cheers for Mater Dei JV. There was some tough competition there. I am happy to report they got 3rd  in State. YAY!

Good Job Girls!

I wanted to being a snack to Springfield and remembered one I have not made in a while. My neighbor Amy introduced me to this recipe. She found it in the Aviston Celebrates America cookbook. It is really yummy and addicting!

Bugle Mix

  • 8 cups bugles
  • 1 cup nuts Pecan halves
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup light corn syrup
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla

Combine Bugles and nuts. Melt butter; add corn syrup and brown sugar. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Boil for 5 minutes stirring only once. Remove from heat and add baking soda and vanilla. Pour over bugles and nuts and stir. Pout into a 10 x 15 inch pan sprayed with pam. Bake a t 300 for 10 minutes, stir well and bake another 10 minutes. Spread mixture on waxed paper to cool. Store in airtight container.

I doubled the recipe when I made it.

I do not have the baking soda and vanilla on here. The recipe in the book does not list it in the ingredient list only in the directions. I forget about those 2 ingredients every time I make it until I read the directions.

Melt Butter.

Add brown sugar and corn syrup.

Whisk until it boils.

Boil for 5 minutes and stirring only once.

I sprayed the pan with Pam and mixed the bugles and pecan in the pan.

Stir it only once doing the 5 minutes of boiling.

Remove from heat and add baking soda

and vanilla

Pour over bugles and stir around trying to coat all the bugles and pecans.

I do not transfer it to another pan...I am all about using least amount of dishes. Bake 10 minutes stir and bake 10 minutes more.

After baking spread it onto wax paper to cool.

Bugle Mix = Addicting!

The sweet and salt make it very yummy!

Tomorrow I am leaving for a trip to Florida. We have a conference in Orlando until Sunday. Then I am going onto St. Pete’s Beach to visit my Brother. Then going to West Palm Beach to visit Samantha, my daughter 🙂 I hope to be able to post on my blog while I am gone. I will not have a computer with me, but hope to use my brothers and Sam’s. It may not be about recipes…maybe food I am eating 😉 I do hope to post a recipe while visiting Samantha. She loves to cook as much as I do. I also will be posting about my first giveaway  in the near future 🙂 Sooo stay tuned!

~ Relish Food and Life!

2 responses »

  1. Looks good, I love sweet and salty like kettle corn. But, I don’t think I have ever seen Bugles on the west coast. Have to put it on the list to pick up while we are there in May.

Leave a Reply

