I’m Back! Basil and Lemon Pepper Chicken and Boiled Cajun Potatoes

Standard

I’m Back! Sorry for being MIA. I thought I would get a chance to post the 2 weeks I was gone…but I was wrong. I had a wonderful time. Mark and I went to a conference in Orlando. I then went onto St. Pete’s Beach to see Lynn, my brother. Then it was onto West Palm Beach to visit Samantha, my daughter. There we revamp her apartment. I will share some photos of my trip through my future posts. I was anxious to get back into the kitchen.

Today was the first time we grilled this year! It tasted soo good.

I received this recipe from Kathy, my sister in law. I am not sure where she found it, but sure glad she shared it with me. It is a really good rub for chicken and super easy.

Basil and Lemon Pepper Chicken

  • 1 T. packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. lemon pepper
  • 1 tsp. dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. seasoning salt
  • 1 lb boneless chicken

Mix everything together except chicken. Rub the mixture on chicken on all sides. Cover and refrigerate at least 15 minutes. Grill meat as desired. The rub can be double, tripled etc and stored in a tightly cover Tupperware type bowl at room temp.  (I had 4 breast totaling approximately 3lbs., so I tripled the recipe and had just enough rub)

See my new cookbook holder? I love it, but it made me get searched at the airport....the knife on it. They almost took it away from me, but I guess I looked harmless 😉

Mix all the ingredients except chicken together. Make sure to rub the basil between your fingers to release more flavor.

All ready to rub on the chicken.

Rub the mixture onto the chicken, cover and pop into the frig for at least 15 minutes. Grill.

Basil and Lemon Pepper Chicken = YUM!

In the Tuesdays New Democrat they had recipes for Mardi Gras in their Lifestyle section. These potatoes sounded really good to me, so I decided to make them today. I was hesitate of how much salt was in the recipe and I should of listened to myself. I have read when you have too much salt in a soup add potato…it will soak up the salt! It sure does! The potatoes were good…just too salty. I would cut the salt in half. They found the recipe on  Real Cajun Recipes website.

Boiled Cajun Potatoes

  • 3 quarts water
  • 6 T. sea salt (I would cut in half)
  • 6 T. Old Bay Seasoning
  • 6 T. dried basil
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 2 tsp. onion powder
  • 10 medium red potatoes

Pour water into a 5 quart dutch oven. Add spices and stir until spices are mixed into the water. Wash and cut the eyes from potatoes and quarter them lengthwise (leaving skin on) and place in pan.  Boil over medium high heat until tender. (Check by inserting fork) Boil ten more minutes. When potatoes are tender turn off heat and let sit in spices for a minimum of 10 minutes before serving.  Serve as you would a bake potato or just plain on a plate. Serve with real butter, not margarine.

The website stated that after cooling the skin is easily removed from these potatoes and they make the best potato salad you’ve ever tasted. They also stated that they are good the next morning for homefries and that are actually better the second day. I am going to give that a try…I will let you know who the homefries turn out.

The ingredient line up.

My new measuring spoons...my other ones have disappeared.

  • Mix water and spices together.
  • Stir until the spices are all mixed up in the water.

    Quarter the potatoes and add to water.

    Bring to a boil and follow directions.

    Let potatoes sit 10 minutes after done cooking in the water.

    Boiled Cajun Potatoes

    These were very tasty…just too salty. I will probably add more pepper next time. I am anxious to fry them up in the morning for breakfast!

    I am thankful for all of you who are following my blog. So in return I will be having my first give away. I will be posting about that in a few days. I want to give everyone a chance to see that I am back to posting, so everyone can have a chance to win 🙂

    ~Relish Food & Life!

    3 responses »

    Leave a Reply

    