My First Give Away and Apple Pie Crisp!

Standard

This recipe comes from one of my cookbooks,  Worth Tasting by Junior League of the Palm Beaches.

It reminds me of a dump cake, which we all love here in this house. Grace’s wishes I would just make the topping from dump cake…she says “It is Heaven on Earth”.  So, I had to try it. It is pretty darn good. A scoop of ice cream would a tasty addition, but totally not needed.  It is like you have dump cake topping on the bottom and the top! Yum! I really think you could use any kind of pie filling….cherry would be awesome 🙂

Apple Pie Crisp

  • 1 (2 layer) package yellow cake mix
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 2 (21 oz.) cans apple pie filling
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened (This is important)
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 (2 layer) package butter recipe cake mix
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted

Combine the yellow cake mix, 1/2 cup butter and 1 egg; mix well. Press over the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan. Combine the pie filling, cream cheese and 3 eggs; mix well. Spread the pie filling over the yellow cake mix layer. Sprinkle with butter recipe cake mix and drizzle with 1/2 butter. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour or until golden brown.

Note: I Sprinkled some cinnamon on the apple layer and added pecans to the top.

Tomorrow is the Lion’s Chicken Dinner. Each member is asked to bring 2 pies and a cake. We always bring Oatmeal Pie and usually brownies. I decided to give this a try…so glad I did.

 

The ingredient line up.

Mix together 1 egg, 1/2 cup butter and yellow cake mix.

Press on the bottom of a pan sprayed with pam.

I mixed the eggs and cream cheese first and then stirred in the pie filling with a spatula.

 

Pour apple mixture on top of the yellow cake mix mixture.

I thought that sprinkled with cinnamon would be a tasty addition to the apples...and it was.

Top with dry yellow butter cake mix and then drizzle with butter.

When I make dump cake, I use pecans on top. I decided to do the same with this recipe.

I had it a little too close to the top of the oven. My pecans got a little too toasted.

Apple Pie Crisp

I have to confess, I had to try a piece. I had to make sure it was good to serve at the Lions Chicken Dinner! After I got the piece out….I started eating it and forgot to take the photo. I do not think Mark would be happy for me to take out another piece…so I kind of patched this one up. That is why the photo is not so great 😉

Stop by the Lions Chicken dinner tomorrow at the KC Hall in Breese and there might be a piece left!

Give Away

Announcing my first give away! I am thankful for all you who are following my blog. So, in return I am having a give away.

With Fat Tuesday around the corner, I thought it would be appropriate to give away  a cookbook called Who’s your Mama, Are you Catholic and Can you make a Roux? The name of the book make me chuckle.  I guess those are common questions to ask a newcomer in Cajun country! The cookbook contains lots of Cajun/creole recipes and interesting stories.

Here is the deal… you need to post a comment to this post and answer this question Of all of your recipes, which one do you consider your best “Fat Tuesday” recipe? You know…the one with cream, butter, pasta, sugar etc. You do not have to share the whole recipe, just the title will be good. You might get some requests for the recipe, so be prepared 🙂  If you post a comment, you will  get to double your chances if you have already subscribed to my blog or subscribe before the deadline. The deadline is Monday, March 7th, Noon Central Time. I am going to use random.org that will randomly  choose the winner. I will announce the winner on my next post and also contact you via email. Make sure to include your email.   Good Luck everyone!

~Relish Food & Life

8 responses »

  1. I have never seen an apple pie crisp made with cake batter. This looks good. I’m going to try and make it to the dinner this afternoon for grandpas birthday.
    My favorite recipe is off the top of my head is my mom’s homemade carrot cake or red velvet cake. I love to make risotto and even though I could try and make it healthy it is never complete without lots of parmesan cheese and half and half….yum.

  2. Hard pressed, either the St. Louis Junior League Gooey Butter Cake or their White Texas Sheet Cake, and on the savory side, Penne with tiny meatballs and bechamel baked into a springform pan and sliced into wedges. (The meatballs make about 100 per pound. Lots of pinch and roll! (I mean the meatballs not the affect on my waistline.))

  3. One of our favorite “Mardi Gras” recipes is Chicken and Sausage Gumbo. After a trip to New Orleans, my husband and I craved the Louisiana cuisine. I found this recipe in a Southern Living magazine. We even shared it with Helliges market and they make the andouille sausage that we use in the recipe. The recipe can be altered to accomodate your tastes- rice vs. okra. We prefer the rice. Delicious!!

  4. Thanks for the ad for the Breese Lions Chicken dinner at the KC hall in Breese. We had a record amount of dinners served, at least for the last 10 years. Thanks to the Breese Legion for letting us use their facilities.

  5. My Fat Tuesday Recipe is for my Cheese Tortellini. Cheese Tortellini, Heavy Whipping Cream, Butter, and Cheese makes rediculously rich, but so yummy!

  6. my vote would be to attend the United Methodist church in Lebanon Fat Tuesday Pancake Dinner – what more can you ask for?

Leave a Reply

