Fat Tuesday = Apple Dumplings!

Standard

Congratulations to Erica! She won the Who’s Your Mama, Are you Catholic and Can You make a Roux? cookbook!Thank you to all who entered the give away!

It is FAT TUESDAY! Here is a FAT dish! I made Apple Dumplings for the crew at Comprehensive Care Pharmacy this morning.  I originally found this recipe at Rachael Ray’s website . I noticed that Pioneer Woman also has a version of this recipe. Here is Jill’s version 😉

Apple Dumplings

  • Two 8-ounce can crescent rolls
  • 2 granny smith apple—peeled, cored and cut into 8 wedges
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 can Mountain Dew SKI
  • vanilla ice cream, optional

Preheat the oven to 350°. Unfold the rolls. Place an apple wedge on the wide edge of each piece of dough and roll up; place the dumplings in an 9 x 13 buttered baking dish.

In a saucepan, melt the butter with the sugar, vanilla and cinnamon over medium heat; stir in the Ski. Pour the mixture on the dumplings. Cover with foil and bake for 15 minutes; remove the foil and bake 15 minutes longer. SIMPLE. Serve with ice cream and the delicious sauce.

Ingriedent Line Up!

Core, peel and cut into wedges. The recipes says into 8 wedges. I find it easy to use the apple slicer, it makes more than 8. If you use this, just add a wedge to a smaller wedge.

Melt butter then add brown sugar, vanilla and cinnamon.

Add SKI!

Pour over dumplings.

Then cover this with aluminum foil and pop into the oven and bake 15 minutes.

Remove foil and bake another 15 minutes.

Apple Dumplings. Don't forget to drizzle some sauce on top!

Even though not needed….This would really good with a scoop of ice cream!

There is a lot of juice…not sure if reducing the amount made would hurt the dish or not. Rachael Ray’s uses brown sugar and Pioneer Woman uses white sugar. I have only used  brown sugar. Does anyone think it would be better to use white sugar? Pioneer Woman added vanilla, which I did today. She also bakes it different. I stuck to the way I have always baked it. I think by covering it for the 15 minutes, maybe steams the apples a little to soften them. Maybe next time I will try Pioneer Woman’s way of baking.

This recipe calls for Mountain Dew. I think Ski is pretty close in taste to Mountain Dew….and since we are in SKI country, I thought I should use it. For those who are wondering what the heck is Ski…it is a soda that is bottled in our little town Ski Excel Bottling .

I need to go figure out what to make tonight that is Fat Tuesday worthy 😉

~Relish Food & Life with Jill

3 responses »

  1. I made the Pioneer Woman version when I was in St. Louis last December, and even after over a pound of pot roast apiece had been consumed, six people devoured the entire batch. I used white sugar and apple pie spice sprinkled on them before they baked. Now I will have to try them with brown or brown/white sugar and soda in the mix instead of poured around. P.S. Love the spatula!

Leave a Reply

