Baked Gnocchi

Standard

When Samantha and Kate returned from Italy on their high school trip, they both said how they loved gnocchi. Gnocchi is a potato dumpling. I was always hesitant to buy it at the store or even order it a restaurant.  Then one day I ordered a soup with gnocchi in it…I was hooked! I have never made fresh gnocchi, but plan on it when I find the recipe I clipped out of a magazine 😉 It is on my foodie bucket list!

Who doesn’t like Mac n Cheese? This is a Italian version, Baked Gnocchi.  This recipe was re-posted on several sites and stated that it was from Cuisine at Home. It is… oh so good!

Baked Gnocchi

  • 1 package (16 oz.) prepared gnocchi
  • 2 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 2 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 Tbsp. flour
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup grated Gruyere cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated fontina cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 375 F.  Coat a 1 1/2 quart shallow baking dish with nonstick spray.

Prepare gnocchi according to package directions.  Remove them from the water with a slotted spoon and transfer them to baking dish, arranged in a single layer if possible.

Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat.  Stir in garlic and cook until fragrant, 1 minute.

Whisk in flour until it thickens and bubbles, then whisk in milk and add Dijon.  Continue to cook until slightly thickened, about 2 minutes.

Add the Gruyere and Fontina to the saucepan by the handful, stirring until melted before adding the next handful.  Once all cheese is melted, season sauce with salt and pepper. Pour sauce over gnocchi and sprinkle the Parmesan on top.

Bake gnocchi until the cheese is golden and bubbly, about 25 minutes.  Let gnocchi rest for 5 minutes before serving.

The ingredient line up.

I followed package directions....add gnocchi to boiling salted water.

Cook 2 - 3 minutes until they float. It is really quick...so keep an eye on them.

Drain and put gnocchi in dish that has been sprayed with Pam.

Grate cheese.

Melt butter in a metal saucepan (not nonstick..you will scratch it when whisking) add garlic and cook for about 1 minute.

Whisk in flour.

Cook until it thickens and bubbles.

Then whisk in milk and mustard. Continue to cook until slightly thickened, approximately 2 minutes.

It is ready for the cheese.

Add Fontina; whisk until melted

Then add Gruyere; whisk until melted.

Season with salt and pepper.

Pour over gnocchi.

Top with parmesan cheese. I decided that it would be tasty to sprinkle with a little basil.

Ready to eat!

Baked Gnocchi

I think they liked it!

My notes: The gnocchi I used was called Gnocchetti It is quite a bit smaller than the regular gnocchi. I used it because that is the only kind I had. The Gnocchetti is really good in soups. I purchased it at a grocery store at The Hill, in St. Louis.  The other thing I did different was sprinkled the top with basil.

This was REALLY good and super easy once you get the cheeses and gnocchi 😉

I thought I would share a few photos of my trip in the next few posts. While visiting Samantha we went to Tacos al Carbon for lunch . They served and cooked their food out of this truck. Their food is great!

See that guy in the white shirt....he is originally from Collinsville. Small world.

Yumo!

~Relish Food & Life with Jill

2 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh, Mere Bruegge just posted this recipe on my Facebook wall. How random. She wanted me to try it. Looks great.

    • That is weird. I have been wanting to try this recipe for a long time. It is a recipe you have to plan for when living in Breese. I thought it would be a great dish to make during lent, so I purchased the cheeses when visiting Kate last week in Edwardsville.You can tell her it was great!

Leave a Reply

