Roasted Greek Potatoes…great tators!

Standard

The weather was beautiful out today. It was time to fire up the grill and grill pork steaks. I was looking for a new potato recipe to make, so I went food.com. I have recipes saved there to try later. I had this one in my saved file. I thought it was strange to have water or broth in the recipe. So I did a search on the site….the number one potato recipe on that site was the same one. I had to make it. It has 449 reviews and 5 stars.  Greek Potatoes

Oven Roasted Greek Potatoes

  • 8 large potatoes, peeled, cut into 6 – 7 wedges
  • 4 7 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 cup of water chicken broth
  • 1 T dried oregano (I did not measure…I probably used at least 2 T)
  • juice of 1 lemon ( The grocery store did not have any lemons, so I used bottled)
  • sea salt
  • black pepper

Preheat oven to 420F.  Use a pan big enough to hold the potatoes. Spray with Pam. Put potatoes and garlic in the pan. Sprinkle with oregano, salt and pepper (season generously). Mix the wet ingredients and add to the potatoes. With clean hands toss around to make sure everything is mixed up evenly. Bake for 4o minutes. Stir around to get the white sides up. Add 1/2 more water ( I used 1/4 cup broth and 1/4 cup water) if pan appears to be getting dry. Season lightly with salt, pepper and oregano. Pop back into the oven and bake for 40 more minutes. Do not be alarmed if they seem overcooked…they are delicious.

 

Ingredient Line up minus lemon

Cut potatoes into wedges.

Mince garlic

Put potatoes and garlic in the pan. Sprinkle generously with oregano, salt and pepper.

Mix together, lemon juice, broth and olive oil.

Pour over potatoes.

Toss around.

After roasting for 40 minutes...you will have to get flip the potatoes around. They were sticking...but I got them tossed. Add 1/2 cup water broth combo and sprinkle lightly with pepper, salt and oregano. Bake an additional 40 minutes.

As you can see...spraying with pam really did not help, but the potatoes were yummy!

Greek Potatoes....crispy heaven!

 

The pan is soaking…but well worth it. One person suggested spraying with pam…which I did. Another said to line pan with aluminum foil. I am afraid after baking for 40 minutes, it would be hard not to tear the foil when tossing. I might try parchment paper next time. This recipe is a keeper!

~Relish Food & Life

2 responses »

  1. Try the non-stick aluminum foil. No matter what I have baked on it, it has released without issue. Sometimes too much, The food slides like crazy on it when you are putting it in and out of the oven. I have tossed food overboard using a cookie sheet with the foil and turning around.

  2. Pingback: Upside Down Potato & Onion Tart | Relish Food & Life with Jill

Leave a Reply

