Norene’s Swiss Steak ♥

Standard

Bunco Girls Ozark weekend = SUCCESS. Unfortunately, I cannot tell you about the weekend. We have a rule…What happens at Bunco, stays at Bunco. We always have so much fun together. We laugh until we cry. I don’t know what I would do without them. I know they help make my life happy and interesting! I learn more things from those girls 😉

When growing up one of my favorite meals was my Mom’s Swiss Steak. Of course she did not have a recipe, but I think I have perfected it. We always had mashed potatoes as a side. Mark told me 2 times…excellent dinner!

Ingredient Line Up!

You will need:

  • 6 -8 cubed steak
  • Flour
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 celery stalks, sliced
  • 2 onions, thinly sliced and then halved
  • 29 oz. tomato sauce
  • 14.5 diced tomatoes with garlic, basil and oregano ( I am pretty sure this was not available when she was alive, but makes a tasty addition)
  • olive oil
  • salt, pepper and basil to taste

Saute onions and celery in olive oil until onions are tender. Add garlic towards the end of sauteing the onions.

Add salt and pepper to flour and dredge cube steak in the flour to coat.

Heat olive oil in another skillet and add cube steak. Brown on both sides.

This is really the first time I have done this. The pan was getting dry and I had some red wine...so I added a little to kind of deglaze the pan. Totally not necessary to get tasty results, Grace could not get the tomatoes opened fast enough 😉

Add cube steak.

Tomato sauce and undrained diced tomatoes.

Add salt, pepper and basil to taste. Stir around.

Cover and simmer about an hour. Stirring around occasionally.

I made mashed potatoes as a side.

This masher has mashed a lot of potatoes! It is probably one of my most favorite kitchen tools I have Because.... it reminds me of my Mom.

Norene's Swiss Steak YUM!

This is how we eat it! The sauce makes a wonderful tomato gravy!

Mom, Love and Miss you ♥

~Relish Food & Life

One response »

  1. Sounds like a fun weekend getaway! I like how “Uncle Mark” said not only once, but twice that dinner was great! It must have been delicious :))

Leave a Reply

