Marinated Chicken in Pepper Cream Sauce & Grilled Garlic Baby Zucchini

Standard

We had a fabulous dinner last night! I have made this chicken recipe several times and it is  good! Grace doesn’t like the peppers ….she picks them out, but she likes the chicken and the sauce!

This recipe came from Back Home Again cookbook, by The Junior League of Indianapolis. I have noted where I made changes or additions.

Marinated Chicken in Pepper Cream Sauce

  • 2 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken Breast (I used chicken tenders)
    • 1/2 cup olive oil
    • 1/4 cup fresh basil (I only had dried, used around 3 T.)
    • 3 T fresh lemon juice
    • 1 T crushed red pepper flakes
    • 2 tsp. garlic, minced (mine were heaping tsp.)

Mix the above ingredients. Pour over chicken. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

  • 5 T butter, divided
  • 1 medium yellow pepper, julienned
  • 1 medium red pepper, julienned
  • 1 medium poblano pepper, julienned (my addition to the recipe)
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 cup mushrooms, sliced
  • Approximately 5 sundried tomato slices, diced ( my addition to the recipe)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 1 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil ( I used dried…approximately 3 T)
  • Cooked Fettuccine, optional

Melt 3 T butter in a large heavy skillet. Saute peppers for 2 minutes ( I sauteed them longer…I would say about 5 minutes) . Remove and set aside. Stir in wine and chicken broth. Increase heat to high and boil until sauce is reduced  to 2 T (I reduced to approximately 1/8 cup), about 5 minutes. Add cream; reduce heat and cook until sauce is reduced by half, around 4 to 5 minutes.

Melt remaining 2 T butter in a second skillet. Saute mushrooms over med hi heat until slightly browned. Add the reserved peppers, cream sauce and salt. At this point the pepper sauce may be refrigerated for up to 24 hours.

Prepare oven to broil or grill. Drain chicken, discard marinade. Broil or grill chicken, turning once. Cooking until chicken is tender. If using whole breast, cut into strips. I usually use chicken tenders. Arrange chicken on platter.

Stir Parmesan and basil into the heated pepper sauce. Pour sauce over chicken. Serve with fettuccine if desired.

Ingredient Line up minus Parmesan cheese and sundried tomatoes.

Mix marinade ingredients together.

Put chicken and marinade in a ziplock and refrigerate. I toss it around a few times while in frig. It says overnight, but I always forget to do it the night before. I did it late morning and still very tasty.

Prepare peppers and mushrooms.

Here are the sundried tomatoes before I diced them.

Saute pepper in butter. I sautéed them longer than 2 minutes as stated in the recipe.

In another pan, saute mushrooms.

Add sundried tomatoes.

Remove peppers from the pan and add to the mushroom pan. I left the pan on low setting.

Add chicken broth and wine to pan that you sautéed the peppers in. Simmer.

I simmered until there was approximate 1/8 cup of liquid left.

Add cream and simmer.

Today I broiled the chicken. I put it on a broiler pan. Broil; turning only once.

After the cream mixture reduces: add pepper/mushroom mixture.

Add 1 cup of parmesan cheese and 3 big pinches of dried basil.

Place chicken on platter or bowl.

Pour sauce on top of chicken. I served it with fettuccine.

This  dish is really good. I love my additions of sundried tomatoes and the poblano pepper. The poblano pepper gives it just a tiny bit of heat. As you know….it is my favorite pepper 🙂

Grilled Garlic Marinated Baby Zucchini

      • 1/2 cup olive oil
      • 4 5 garlic cloves, peeled
      • 1/2 teaspoon coarse kosher salt plus additional for sprinkling
      • 1/4 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
      • 1 pound baby zucchini, trimmed

Blend oil, garlic, 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, and 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper in blender until almost smooth. Using fork or wooden skewer, pierce zucchini all over. Place in medium bowl. Pour garlic oil over zucchini and let stand at room temperature at least 30 minutes and up to 1 hour, tossing occasionally.

Prepare barbecue (medium-high heat). Grill zucchini until tender and golden in spots, turning occasionally, about 6 minutes. Transfer to plate, sprinkle with additional salt, and serve.

Ingredient Line Up.

Place all ingredients except zucchini in food processor and puree.

Poke the baby zucchini with fork all over.

These are the cutest things! I really had no clue when I purchased them what I was going to do with them. That is the beauty of the internet...it took me less than a minute to figure out what I was going to do with them.

Pour garlic mixture over the zucchini and let sit out at room temp for at least 30 minutes, no longer than an hour.

I grilled them on my grill pan on my stove. I brushed the leftover marinade on them while grilling. It took longer than what the recipe stated. Cook until tender.

Sprinkle with a little bit of salt....these were so good!

I found the recipe today on Epicurious website .

YUM.

This was the first time making the zucchini recipe. It was really good. Mark even loved it. He had seconds 🙂 I think adding herbs to the marinade would also be tasty.

Leann, a friend of mine sent me a recipe for Pecan Pie Cookies. They sound awesome. I hope to make those on Friday or Saturday. My dish to bring to Mark’s parents house for Easter is a Salad. I will post both of those recipes soon.

~Relish Food & Life

One response »

  1. I’ve made this chicken recipe before but not with the additions,going to try those the next time. I needed to do something with all the zucchini I have in the freezer. I have it cut in large slices from Dads garden…we’ll see if it still works on the grill since it been frozen. I think you need to write a column in the Journal!!! Love the recipes!! We still need to setup a field trip to St, Louis for the gooey butter cake, lets see if its as good as your Moms!!

Leave a Reply

