~Parmesan Salsa~

Standard

Jim, my friend and fellow foodie introduced me to this recipe. It is always a fav when I serve it at parties. The recipe is from  Michael Chiarello from Foodnetwork . I actually realized today I make it different from the directions…it still taste good my way! You will see in the photos they way I make it. I may give the way I am supposed to make it a whirl next time 😉

Salsa di Parmigiano

    • 1/2 pound Parmesan, not too dry
    • 1/2 pound Asiago cheese, not too dry
    • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
    • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
    • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
    • 2 tablespoons chopped green onion
    • 1 1/2 cups extra-virgin olive oil
    • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Remove any rind from the cheeses and chop the cheeses into rough 1-inch chunks. Place the cheese in a food processor with the garlic, oregano, and red pepper flakes and pulse until reduced to the size of fine pea gravel. Stir in the green onion, olive oil and black pepper. Cover and let stand at room temperature for at least 4 hours before using.

Ingredient Line Up.

Put cubed cheeses, oregano, garlic and red pepper in the food processor and process until it is like gravel rock size.

It should look like this.

Stir in pepper and green onions.

Add olive oil. Cover and let stand at room temp for at least 4 hours before using.

Parmesan Salsa.

Serve on garlic toast or french bread slice. YUM!

I used 5 oz each of the cheese. That is how it came. I really did not adjust the seasonings ( I tend to be heavy on the teaspoons.) except the olive oil, I used 1 cup.

It would be really tasty served with grilled asparagus or really any grilled or roasted veggie. I think sun dried tomatoes would be a tasty addition…I think I just might add some right now!

~Relish Food & Life!

One response »

Leave a Reply

