Baby White Potatoes with Cipolline and Dill ( I used Rosemary)

Standard

Holy Cow…these were good! I was at Global Foods the other day and they had Cipollini onions. I have always wanted to try them, so I bought them. I found a recipe right away from my clippings from Bon Appetit Here is some info on  Cipollini Onions. I believe you can use pearl onions, if you cannot find Copollini Onions.

Baby White Potatoes with Cipollini and Dill

  • 1 pound cipollini or boiling onions (each about 1 to 1 1/2 inches in diameter) I only had 1/2 pound…I sure wished I had the whole pound!
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 2 pounds baby white potatoes (each about 1 to 1 1/4 inches in diameter) I used Klondike gourmet.
  • 3 tablespoons minced fresh dill  Rosemary
  • salt and pepper

Cook cipollini onions in medium saucepan of boiling water 3 minutes. Drain; rinse with cold water and peel. (Can be prepared 1 day ahead. Cover and refrigerate.)

Melt 2 tablespoons butter in large skillet over medium heat. Add potatoes; stir to coat. Cover skillet; cook potatoes until golden and almost tender, stirring occasionally, about 25 minutes. Mix in cipollini onions. Cover; cook until cipollini onions and potatoes are tender and golden, stirring occasionally, about 20 minutes longer. Mix in dill and 1 tablespoon butter. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer to bowl.

Ingredient Line Up minus olive oil, salt, pepper and Rosemary. I used Klondike Gourmet potatoes. I got them at Super Valu

Boil onions.

Melt butter and add potatoes; cover and cook for 25 minutes.. A reviewer mentioned they did half butter and half olive oil. I used butter, but before adding onions. I felt the butter was too brown. I took a paper towel and wiped out the butter and then added some olive oil and then added the onions. I will do half and half at the start next time.

Peel onions and add to the pan after the potatoes have cooked for 25 minutes. Cover and cook for 20 minutes or until tender.

I decided to use rosemary. I am not crazy about dill. So glad I used rosemary...they were delish!

Yum!

I served it with thick cut pork chops that were sprinkled with Citizen Kane's steak seasoning and then grilled and steamed green beans toss in a little butter and greek seasoning! Yum Yum Yum! Sorry for the fuzzy photo...I could not wait to dig in 😉

Grace loves green beans that way…seriously Mark and I each had a serving and she ate the rest of the bowl. It is her all time fav and usually the only way we make them.

Those onions were so sweet and yummy! Dear Super Valu, Can you get Cipollini onions….I am in love with them!

~Relish Food & Life

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Amaretto Bread Pudding with Blackberries ~ Super Good! | Relish Food & Life with Jill

  2. Pingback: Maple, Mustard,Garlic & Rosemary Chicken | Relish Food & Life with Jill

Leave a Reply

