Artichoke ‘n’ Chicken Alfredo over Wilted Spinach and Panko Asparagus Fries

Standard

This was a very tasty meal we had last night. I served the chicken with noodles and felt I should have double the sauce. I will do that next time….the recipe will have the changes. I clipped the recipe from Southern Living Magazine

Artichoke ‘n’ Chicken Alfredo over Wilted Spinach

  • 2 pounds chicken tenders
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper (I did not measure…just sprinkled it on)
  • 1/2 1 (15 or 16-oz.) jar sun-dried tomato Alfredo sauce
  • 2  4 tablespoons dry white wine
  • 1 (12-oz.) jar quartered marinated artichoke hearts, drained
  • 1/2 cup grated Asiago cheese, divided ( I probably used a bit more…I did not measure it)
  • 2 (6-oz.) bags fresh baby spinach
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

1. Sprinkle chicken tenders with pepper, and place in a lightly greased 13- x 9-inch baking dish. Stir together Alfredo sauce and white wine, and spoon evenly over chicken. Cut artichoke quarters in half, and arrange over chicken; sprinkle with 1/4 cup cheese.

2. Bake at 350° for 35 to 40 minutes or until sauce is bubbly and chicken is done.

3. Meanwhile, thoroughly wash spinach. Cook spinach in a lightly greased skillet over medium-high heat 2 to 3 minutes or just until wilted; sprinkle with lemon juice. Place spinach on a serving platter, and top with chicken tenders. Spoon artichoke mixture over chicken, and sprinkle with parsley and remaining 1/4 cup cheese.

Ingredient Line Up!

Place chicken in a greased dish. Sprinkle chicken with pepper on both sides.

Mix alfredo sauce and wine together.

Top chicken with sauce and drained artichokes. If you have picky eaters, you probably could leave them out.

Top with some Asiago cheese and pop into the oven.

Chicken all done.

I did not use the whole amount of spinach it called for...I wish I had. Place spinach in skillet with a tiny bit of Olive oil.

Saute until wilted.

This is the way I served it. Place cooked noodles in bowl.

Place spinach on top of noodles and squeezed lemon juice over the spinach.

Top spinach with chicken and some more cheese.

I was just thinking, I bet adding a few sun-dried tomatoes to this would taste really good. I will have to try that next time.

I love Asparagus and even Mark is beginning to love it. I seen this next recipe on Cascadian Farm Blog.

Panko Asparagus Fries

  • 1 bunch thin fresh asparagus
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Black pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs (I used Italian Style)
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 425º F. Line a baking sheet with parchment. Rinse and pat dry asparagus spears. Snap asparagus ends off. (Ends can be saved to make a wonderful vegetable broth!)

In a shallow dish, beat together eggs, Dijon, salt and pepper. In another shallow dish, combine panko and Parmesan. One at a time, dip asparagus spears into the egg mixture and then roll in the panko, lining them up on the baking sheet about ½” apart until full.

Bake for 20 minutes, flipping once halfway through. Remove from oven and serve with aioli for dipping.

Ingredient Line Up!

Whisk, eggs, salt, pepper and mustard together.

Dip asparagus into the egg mixture then roll into the panko mixture. The crumbs did not stick to the asparagus very well. Unfortunately, I did not take a photo of them before I put them in the oven.

Here is what they look like after they are done baking.

I was unsure about these since the panko was not sticking to the asparagus…so I only did a few. I was happy I used the Italian style…it gave it lots of flavor. The Panko Asparagus was really good! I had wish I had done them all that way.

The rest I sautéed in a little olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper (one of my favorite ways of eating asparagus).

I could have eaten that whole plate!

~Relish Food & Life

Leave a Reply

