Baked Buffalo Chicken Pasta

Standard

Today was a beautiful day out. I tried to read my book (thought it was a good idea since book club is Friday and I just started the book yesterday) outside, but there is a bird who did not think I belonged out there. Those babies better start learning to fly soon!

Thank you to all who are following my cooking adventures. I have had a few people ask me how they can receive post via their email. On the top right side of this page, Where it says email subscriptions. Enter your email. You will then receive an email and you will have to confirm the subscription. It is really easy.

Tonight I decided to try a new recipe that I found on Tasty Kitchen website Baked Buffalo Chicken Pasta. I thought it was pretty good.

Baked Buffalo Chicken Pasta

  • 1 pound Whole Wheat Pasta  1/2 lb pasta
  • 1 Tablespoon Butter
  • 1 Tablespoon Flour
  • 1-½ cup Milk
  • 4 ounces, fluid Grated Monterey Jack Cheese 2 cups Monterery Jack and cheddar cheese (combo package)
  • ⅓ cups Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese Plus More For Topping
  • ⅓ cups Buffalo Wing Sauce Plus More To Serve
  • 3 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts, Cooked And Cut Into Chunks  4 cups chicken tenders, sliced.
  • ⅓ cups Panko Bread Crumbs
  • ½ cups Crumbled Gorgonzola ( Grocery store did not have this)
  • ¾ cups Chopped Green Onions
  • ½ cups Chopped Fresh Cilantro

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Prepare water for pasta and cook according to directions.

Saute chicken (season with salt and pepper) in skillet with 1 T of olive oil.  While pasta is cooking, heat a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add the butter, and once it’s melted and bubbly, add the flour. Whisk together to create a roux and cook for 1-2 minutes until mixture gets a bit golden in color. Add milk, stir and turn down heat to low. Continue stirring until milk slightly thickens. Add in 1 1/2 cup cheese and continue to stir until mixture is smooth. Stir in buffalo wing sauce. Taste and season with salt and pepper if needed.

Spray a baking dish with non-stick spray. Add pasta and chicken, then pour cheese sauce over and mix throughly until everything is coated. Sprinkle with remaining grated cheese and bread crumbs. Bake for 25 minutes or until cheese is golden brown. Remove from oven and immediately top with gorgonzola, green onions and cilantro. Drizzle with buffalo wing sauce.

Ingredient Line Up.

Slice chicken tenders

Season chicken with salt and pepper; saute in olive oil.

While pasta is cooking….

Melt butter and add flour

whisk

Add milk

add cheese

Add wing sauce

Put chicken and noodles into a dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray.

Pour sauce over pasta/chicken and toss.

Sprinkle with remaining cheese and panko bread crumbs. Pop into the oven.

After done baking,  Drizzle with wing sauce and sprinkle with cilantro, green onion and if you desire, Gorgonzola cheese.

Baked Buffalo Chicken Pasta 🙂

You can use any pasta you want. I really wanted to use orecchiette, but they did not have that at the store. So, I use farfelle (bow tie) pasta.

~Relish Food & Life

 

2 responses »

  1. Sounds tasty, one of my favorite flavors. I noticed you amped up the chicken and sauce compared to the pasta. So was it almost like stew over rice or beef tips over noodles than a mixed chicken and pasta dish?

    • I felt the original had too much pasta…especially just the 3 of us. I looked at the poundage (is that a word?) of 3 chicken breast (which was around 3 lbs.) at the store and got a package comparable in tenders. I used maybe 3/4 of the package. I decided to make the amount of sauce it called for in the original recipe because I did not want to be short on sauce. I did not use all of the sauce…but could have. . I think it was like a baked chicken pasta dish. It was not too saucy,

      I was thinking….what would cream cheese taste like in the sauce?

Leave a Reply

