Blueberry Picking means it is time to make Blueberry Pie!

Standard

Today Jan and I went blueberry picking. It is our annual excursion we do every year together. Jan pick’s me up, we get coffee and ice tea and head to Centralia to Beals. Today was the perfect day for picking, not too hot. He put us in a row that was pretty open so less bugs and SPIDERS πŸ™‚ and lots of blueberries to pick. Our stomachs start growling after a few hours…that is because we are thinking of breakfast at Biggies. That is our treat after picking blueberries. Jan was the winner, she beat me by one pound!

Every year there are a group of Mennonites or Amish people that are there when we go. They have the right idea…they bring all of their kids to pick! They didn’t complain, they were happy as can be. They were on my side picking, there was a little boy about 10 years old, He said “Momma, the blueberries are plentiful” I told Jan they sound like the Walton’s, they even had a Mary Ellen! I would have loved to go home with them and seen what they were going to do with all those blueberries.

After they left, we discussed what it would be like to live like they do. The simple life. I think it would be very interesting for a week, but not sure if I could do it all the time.

We decided we need to hire a few kids next time. Not ours we thought they would complain too much πŸ˜‰

The first thing I decided to make with the blueberries is pie. Sarah, my friend gave me this recipe and it has been a family favorite.

Blueberry Pie

Heat oven to 450. Use a 9″ unbaked pie shell.

Mix crumb topping:

  • 2 T sugar
  • 4 T flour
  • 2 T butter
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Spread topping on foil line cookie sheet. Bake Topping and pie shell together for 5 – 10 minutes (I find that the topping gets done fast, so keep an eye on it) until pie shell is golden brown. Remove and set aside to cool.

Wash and clean 4 cups fresh blueberries. In med bowl, mix 1/4 c water and 5 T flour. Stir until the paste is smooth and set aside.

In a saucepan, mix 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup water. Bring to a boil then add 1 cup blueberries. Boil slowly for 3 minutes. Add hot mixture (I do not add all of the hot mixture) to the flour paste, stirring slowly to keep smooth. Return all to pan then cook and stir until thickened, about 2 minutes. Stir in remaining 3 cups blueberries. Stir well then pour into cooled bake pie shell. Sprinkle with crumb topping over pie. Refrigerate.

Ingredient Line Up

Mix ingredients for crumb topping.

After mixed thoroughly. place on foil line cookie sheet and pop into the oven with pie crust.

Let cool and crumble.

Mix flour and water in a bowl

It will look like this.

In a sauce pan mix water and sugar. Bring to a boil

Add 1 cup blueberries and boil for 3 minutes.

Add some of the liquid to the flour mixture. Whisk.

Whisk until smooth

Then add it all back into the saucepan and cook until thickened approx. 2 mins.

Add the remaining 3 cups of blueberries.

Stir well.

Pour into pie shell.

I have to confess...I bought refrigerated pie crust. It did not work out! Luckily, I had a package of frozen pie crust in the freezer. I am not a baker...but I need to start making my own crust. Does anyone have a good recipe? How do you keep the crust from flipping down?

Sprinkle with crumb mixture.

One for us and one for the pharmacy πŸ™‚ Super Yummy!

To all who have the Seymore Family Reunion Cookbook, I just realized it is wrong in the book. This is how it is made πŸ˜‰ Sorry!
~Relish Food & Life

 

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

