BLT Bites made with Brown Sugar/Chili Powder Bacon

Standard

I had book club tonight and needed to make something that would be hard to live without….BACON! Here is a shout out to my friend Leann for giving me the recipe for the bacon. Thanks Leann! The bacon recipe is from Paula Deen.  I decided to make small BLT Bites with the bacon and it turn out great.

Brown Sugar/ Chili Powder Bacon

  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar
  • 4 tsp chili powder
  • 1 package thick bacon (which is about 10 slices)

Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil. Set a cooling rackinside the prepared pan and set aside.

In a shallow dish, combine the brown sugar and chili powder.  Dredge the bacon slices in the brown sugar mixture and arrange the bacon on the rack. Bake in the preheated oven until crisp, about 20 minutes. Transfer to a serving plate and serve.

Paula Deen’s recipe called for half of the brown sugar and chili powder for 8 slices of bacon. I double it, which is the recipe I have here for 10 slices of bacon….I did not have any brown sugar mixture left.

Ingredient Line up

Mix brown sugar and chili powder

Dredge bacon in sugar mixture and put on prepared pan. Bake until crisp.

 

While baking, I toasted bread, cut off crust and cut into 1/4th.

Sliced grape tomatoes in half.

 

After bacon was done. I started assembling them. I spread mayo on toast, piece of bacon, 2 pieces of lettuce, piece of bacon and tomato slice. Skewer it with a toothpick.

While the bacon was cooking I also spread mayo onto the toast squares.

BLT Bites...yum!

~Relish Food & Life

Leave a Reply

