Fish Sandwiches with Jalapeno Slaw

Standard

I am procrastinating…I am trying to clean out my closet, but made an awesome lunch for Mark and wanted to share it.

When my Mom would fry fish she would use corn meal, salt and pepper…it is my favorite breading for fish! She would also make a Mustard/ Mayo Cole Slaw. So, when I seen this recipe in Food Network Magazine, I knew I had to try it.

                                        Fish Sandwiches with Jalapeno Slaw                                       adapted from Food Network Magazine

Slaw ingredients.

Mix 3 cups of shredded cabbage, 2 T mustard, 2 T pickled jalapenos and 1 T of it juice, 1/4 to 1/2 cup mayo (depending how creamy you like your slaw)

             

Fish ingredient line up...minus salt and pepper

It is kind of hard to see, the type of fish I used was Tilapia.

I had 1% milk and thought I should add a dash of the heavy cream I had on hand. I was afraid the 1 % would not stick to the fish very well. I do that quite often when recipes call for  whole milk. I will add a little half and half or heavy cream to my 1 %. It just depends what I have on hand.

Slap your Mama is cajun seasoning that I like to use to jazz food up a bit. You can leave it out or use any other cajun seasoning.

Soak the fish in Milk, flipping occasionally while you are preparing everything else.

Pour cornmeal onto a plate add salt, pepper and cajun seasoning to your taste.

You could use Andy\’s Cajun Fish Breading instead of the cornmeal and seasonings. It is cornmeal based 🙂

I toasted my buns on my stove top grill pan while frying the fish.

Dredge the fish in the corn meal mixture. Too funny....I just seen my Omega 3's in the background. I think I need to go take those after eating fried fish 😉

Put fish in hot canola oil and fry 4 -5 minutes until cooked through. Transfer to paper towel.

Put fish and slaw on your bun and sink your teeth in. I was thinking that sliced tomatoes would have been a nice addition. It would be even tasty without the bun.

Fish Sandwich with Jalapeno Slaw

Well,  now back to the closet! If I do not post in the next day or two…you may want to come looking for me! My closet is a mess!

~Relish Food & Life

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

