Creamy Tomato Tortellini Soup

Standard

Procrastinating again…not done with cleaning out my closet. I have been wanting to make this soup, so thought I would make it before I tackle the closet again.

I made quite a few changes to the original recipe. I know there a tons of people out there who love condensed tomato soup, but I am not a big fan , so that got nixed! I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I used fresh onion and garlic instead of powder. If you click on Taste of Home below…you will see the changes.

                                                               Creamy Tomato Tortellini Soup                                                                     Adapted from Taste of Home.

  • 1 package (9 oz) refrigerated cheese tortellini
  • 1/2 cup onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • olive oil
  • 1 (28 oz) can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups 1 % milk**
  • 2 cups heavy cream**
  • 1/2 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 1 cup of Parmesan cheese plus extra when serving

Cook tortellini according to package directions.  Meanwhile, heat 1 T olive in a dutch oven. Add onions and saute until soft, add garlic and saute for another minute. Add crushed tomatoes, broth, milk, cream, parmesan cheese,  basil, salt and pepper. Heat through, stirring frequently. Carefully add drained tortellini. When serving add additional parmesan cheese.

** The original recipe called for 2 cups 2 % milk and 2 cups half and half. I had 1 % and heavy cream in the frig, so that is what I used. You certainly could do the 2 % and half and half and still get a yummy soup.

Ingredient Line up...minus onion.

Saute onion in olive oil.

Add garlic and saute (next time I might saute the sun-dried tomatoes with the garlic and onions)

Add tomatoes,

broth,

cream and milk,

sun-dried tomatoes,

salt, pepper, basil,

and cheese. Heat until soup is hot. Stirring frequently.

add cooked tortellini. Heat for a few more minutes.

When serving garnish with additional cheese on top.

Creamy Tomato Tortellini Soup....and yes that is what I ate for breakfast 😉

Back to the closet or until my mind wonders and think of something else I want to cook 😉

Thought for the day!

~Relish Food & Life!

Leave a Reply

