Fresh Apple Coconut Cake with Brown Sugar Glaze and Buffalo Chicken Soup

Standard

It was a beautiful weekend. We went to my sister in-laws clubhouse in Pike County. Pike County was having their Fall Color Drive, so the guys went hunting and the girls hit the road. Each town that participated in the drive had yard sales, crafts, antique stores and food. We were off to find us some treasures.

Here are my purchases from the day.

This was my best find. I got all of these antique (around 75) ornaments for 10 bucks! I was so happy. I put garland on an antique chifferobe in my living room each year and fill it with lights and antique ornaments. I seem to break a few each year putting it up and taking it down. Now, I have replacements 🙂

I love dishes! I found these at various sales. The gold goes great in my kitchen and will be perfect for dips and sauces. My Mom had white milk glass and I have some of her pieces. I found those 2 white ones together at a sale. I have one like it already plus 2 bigger ones and a pedestal dish.

I have some of my whites dishes on display in my kitchen. I think I need to put mini pumpkins in between those dishes for fall!

I absolutely LOVE these pumpkins and their colors. I have a plan for them. I will post photo when I am finished with them.

My last post I told you I was trying an Apple cake recipe. It was really good. My Mother in law asked for the recipe…so it is good 🙂 The bad news is…I think I left my camera at the clubhouse, at least I HOPE so. My camera has all the photos on it. So, I will just give you the recipe. I found the recipe on Pinterest, which led to Lick the Bowl Good. I tweaked it a bit. Their version did not have coconut in it or applesauce. I thought it was a great addition. You can definitely omit the coconut it if you are not a coconut junkie, like I am. You can also omit the pecan if you wish. You can click on the name of their blog above, they have some photos of the cake.

Fresh Apple Coconut Cake with Brown Sugar Glaze

Apple Cake:
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup canola oil plus 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 cups finely chopped granny smith apples (approximately 3)
  • 1 cup pecans chopped (optional)
  • 1/2 cup coconut (optional)

Brown Sugar Glaze:

  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 6 Tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 Tablespoon heavy cream

For the cake: Heat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an9 x 13 inch pan and set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.Stir with a whisk to mix everything together.

In a large bowl, mix the eggs with a hand mixer til light in color and foamy. Add the oil, applesauce and vanilla and beat well.

Stir in the flour mixture with a spoon and continue stirring the batter until the flour disappears. Add the apples, coconut and nuts and stir to mix them into the batter.

Scrape batter into prepared pan and bake for 40-45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Place the hot cake on a wire cake. While it’s still hot, prepare the glaze.

For the glaze: Combine all the ingredients into a saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring often, until the mixture comes to a gentle boil. Cook for 3-5 minutes.

Spoon the hot glaze over the still hot-from-the-oven cake. Let the glazed cake cool completely before serving straight from the pan.

This is yummy served warm with ice cream 🙂

Today was a cold rainy day, a perfect day for soup! I search for a new recipe to make and I decided on Buffalo Chicken Soup. I had an ingredient line up photo taken, but decided to make it totally different from the recipe. I think it turned out pretty darn good.

Buffalo Chicken Soup

  • 2 chicken breast (about 4 cups), cooked and diced (I might try shredding the chicken next time)
  • 1 small onion, chopped finely
  • 4 stalk celery, chopped finely
  • 2 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 T butter
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup Buffalo wing sauce (I used franks brand)
  • 2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
  • 1/2 Parmesan cheese
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp Old Bay Seasoning

1. Cook chicken as you like. I diced my chicken, sprinkled it with salt, pepper and Cajun seasoning. Then I sautéed it. You can do whatever you want. You could even buy a rotisserie chicken from the deli. Just please do not use canned!
2. Saute onions and celery until  almost tender. Add garlic and saute a few more minutes.
3. Stir in broth, heavy cream, chicken and Buffalo Wing sauce.
4. In a bowl, toss both cheeses together and flour. Mix well. Gradually add to soup.
5. Heat until slightly thicken and hot.

I sautéed the chicken in a pan, sprinkled with salt, pepper and Cajun seasoning.

The Cajun seasoning that I used was Slap Ya Mama! If you wish to season it, You could use any kind of Cajun seasoning . This one you can find at World Market. You could also cook the chicken in the microwave with the seasonings.

Melt butter in olive oil.

Saute onion and celery until almost tender

Then add the garlic and saute a few more minutes.

Add chicken broth,

FYI, Super Valu has Kitchen Basic Chicken and Beef broth on sale this week for 2.99. It is located right when you come in across from the carts.

heavy cream,

Buffalo wing sauce and

chicken. Heat until warm.

Mix cheeses and flour together.

Then add handfuls of cheese mixture to soup. Stir until melted then add the next handful. Repeat until all of cheese is in the soup.

Add Old Bays Seasoning. Heat until hot and slightly thickened.

Buffalo Chicken Soup. It hit the spot on this cold rainy day!

Grace was not crazy about the celery and onions.  I might try to use my stick blender before I add the cheese and chicken next time to blend it smooth. Then add chicken (shredded) and cheese.  I think she might like it better that way. The rest of the family loved it the way it was.

Marcus and Leigh, Facebook Friends that live in Duncan, OK, they own a store called Distinctive-Decor. I cannot wait to go there and see it some day. Until then I will just order from them online. Congrats to them… for being in the November Issue of Oprah’s Magazine (page 81)  in the “O List” section for their Orka Plus Silicone Mitts that they have available at their store and online. I have Orange Mitts ordered 🙂 Originally $15, now $12 with code OPRAH.

~Relish Food & Life!

 

2 responses »

  1. Buffalo Chicken soup will be on the list for this weekend! I think the stick blender idea is a good one. (Especially since Sarah gave me one which I haven’t used yet.) I will probably try a roasted butternut squash soup recipe at the same time since Sarah doesn’t like heat.

Leave a Reply

