Chili and Skillet Cornbread

Standard

It is that time of year ~ Chili Time! I have been making the same chili recipe for years!

Looks a little used, huh!

I made a batch on Sunday and it was tasty as always.

Chili

  • 2 lbs lean ground beef
  • 1 -2 medium onions, chopped
  • 1 med green pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 2 -3 cloves garlic, minced

In a soup pot cook the above ingredients until meat is brown; drain.

Then add:

  • 2 16 oz cans tomatoes, diced
  • 1 15 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp Ancho chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/4 cup chopped pickled jalapeno peppers
  • (If you want a little more heat, you can add a dash of cayenne pepper)

Bring mixture to a boil; reduce heat. Simmer uncovered for 1 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally.

Then add:

1 15 1/2 oz can Chili beans

Cook 30 more minutes. Remove bay leaf before serving. Serve chili topped with shredded mexican cheese.

Note: This time, I had some poblano peppers, so I used those instead of green pepper. Since they have a little heat, I did not add any cayenne and reduced the jalapenos a smidge 😉 I also made a double batch, so that is why so much of the ingredients.

Chop all the veggies.

Add them to the soup pot with the ground beef.

When the beef is brown; drain.

Add the rest of the ingredients except for the beans.

Simmer for a hour and a half, then add Beans. Cook for another 30 minutes.

While the chili was cooking, I made skillet cornbread. This is a Pioneer Woman’s recipe.  I have to confess, I had to make it twice. I burnt the first one. Mark and Kathy, his sister both commented that it was not very tall. Well, look at Pioneer Woman’s, her’s is not tall either 😉 I guess I need to talk to Mark’s mom and see how she makes it. It was still tasty and I am not sure I would like it that thick! I am a thin and crispy kind of girl 😉

Skillet Cornbread

  • 1 cup Yellow Cornmeal
  • ½ cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
  • 1 cup Buttermilk
  • ½ cups Milk
  • 1 whole Egg
  • ½ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • Âź cups Shortening
  • 2 Tablespoons Shortening

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Combine cornmeal, flour, salt, and baking powder in a bowl. Stir together.

Measure the buttermilk and milk in a measuring cup and add the egg. Stir together with a fork. Add the baking soda and stir.

Pour the milk mixture into the dry ingredients. Stir with a fork until combined.

In a small bowl, melt 1/4 shortening. Slowly add melted shortening to the batter, stirring until just combined. In an iron skillet, melt the remaining 2 tablespoons shortening over medium heat. Pour the batter into the hot skillet. Spread to even out the surface. (Batter should sizzle.)

Cook on stovetop for 1 minute, then bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown. Edges should be crispy.

Mix the cornmeal, flour, salt and baking powder together.

Mix together milk, buttermilk and egg. Then add baking soda to the mixture.

Stir the milk mixture into the cornmeal mixture.

Then add melted shortening.

Melt 2 T of shortening in a cast iron skillet.

Add the batter to the skillet.

Cook one minute on top of stove.

Then pop it into the oven. The recipe says to bake it for 20 - 25 minutes. I set the timer for 20 minute the first time and it was burnt. The second time I set it for 15 minutes and that was a good time. So, I would set your timer at 15 minutes and it needs longer, keep checking it.

Skillet Cornbread

Chili and Skillet Cornbread. yum.

Today I decided to stop by Fingerpost in Breese. What a little gem of a store that is! I believe I have mentioned this on my blog before…it is like Gringo Jones in St. Louis, but he has better prices than Gringo Jones.

I had a gift certificate (thanks to some sweet people) that has been burning a hole in my pocket. Here is what I got:

Amazing hand blown wine and margarita glasses. Aren't the colors fabulous! $14.00 each

How cute is this? Turkey AND the pumpkin $14.00

and this fabulous glass bowl. I have been deciding on this bowl for a long time...what size, where will I put it... I LOVE it. $32.00

Remember the 3 pumpkins in my last post that I purchased in Pike County? Here is what I did with them.

I love all the colors. I could use a few more corn husk, but that is all I had available.

All ready for fall, ignore the door...it is getting painted this week 🙂

Here are some photos of the store inside…he has a ton of stuff outside too.

You can click here The Fingerpost to see his website and you can Like their Facebook page where he updates it with new photos.

~Relish Food & Life!

 

One response »

  1. I have never heard of the fingerpost! Looks like a great little store! How long has it been open? My friend Mere did the same thing with her pumpkins as well!

Leave a Reply

