Chile Relleno Casserole

Standard

This is a super easy and yummy dish. Mark must have told me 5 times last night how much he liked it. Please see my notes at the end. This recipe was adapted from Green Cattle Blog

            Chile Relleno Casserole

  • 1 – 1 1/4 lb ground beef **see note
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 cans of whole green chiles **see note
  • 1 4 oz can green chiles, diced
  • 1 1/2 cups taco cheese or Mexican blend shredded cheese
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • Salsa

Preheat oven to 375.  Brown meat and onion. Add garlic and saute for a minute.  Add salt and pepper and red pepper flakes.  In a 9 x 9 casserole dish,  place whole green chiles on the bottom. Top with half of the cheese, then with drained beef mixture. Top with the other half of cheese and then the can of chopped green chilies.  Mix 4 eggs and milk.  Add flour, mix well and pour over dish.  Bake at 375 for about 50 minutes.  Cover with foil halfway through cooking if it gets too brown.

Note: This was a really tasty dish. There were no whole green chilies to be found in town. I went to the Mexican grocery store and they had a 27 oz can of whole roasted poblano peppers (they are in the photo). That size was the right amount for the dish. I drained and seeded them and they were ready to go. I think the dish would be just as good with the whole chile peppers if you can find them. Next time I might roast my own poblanos….I think they would have a bit more of a kick ( I like it a little spicy). The canned poblanos are not as spicy as roasting my own.

Like I said before, the way I did it was very tasty, but I am always thinking what could I do to make it even better. I think next time I might try it with sausage and maybe even an Italian sausage. Chorizo would be good too… the ideas are endless. If you try it, let me know if you tried any of these suggestions and how it turned out.

Ingredient Line up, minus the garlic, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper.

Brown hamburger and chopped onions. Add garlic and saute for a few minutes.

Place whole chiles in the bottom of dish.

Top with 1/2 of the cheese.

Top with beef.

then cheese and chopped green chiles.

Thoroughly mix eggs and milk . Then mix in flour. Pour over the dish.

All ready to pop into the oven.

Right out of the oven and ready to dig in.

Top with a little Salsa ~ Chile Relleno Casserole!

This would also be excellent for a breakfast casserole. Yum!

I seen on TV that the DVD for The Help is coming out soon. If you have not seen the movie or read the book. It is a must.

~Relish Food & Life

One response »

Leave a Reply

