Mom’s Hamburger Veggie Soup

Standard

It is that time of the year…Christmas Time! Why do I feel so behind and it is only December 1st?  I finally made the journey to the attic yesterday and started getting down the decorations. I put on some Christmas music and started decorating. I found many reasons to stop….and one was that I was thinking of my Mom while decorating and decided to make a pot of her Hamburger Veggie Soup 🙂

My mom would always make this soup. In fact, I really do remember any other soup that she made. It was a family favorite. I sure do miss her (and Dad), but so glad I have so many memories that I cherish…as simple as a pot of soup!

I would love to hear from you, what is one of your favorite dishes that your Mom makes or made? Please leave it in a comment below. I have said this before, if your parents are still with you…have them write down your favorites recipes and make sure you get lots of photos of you and your parents together. You will be so happy you did.

Mom’s Hamburger Veggie Soup

  • 1 – 1 1/2 lbs ground beef, season with salt and pepper and cook until done
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 2 handfuls of Kluski or some kind of home style  noodles
  • 1 can corn, undrained
  • 1 can cut green beans, undrained
  • 2 can tomato sauce or 1 large
  • 1 can diced tomatoes with garlic and spices
  • 1 heavy Tablespoon dried basil
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • salt and pepper

Fill soup pot with 1/4 to 1/2 full of water. Add diced onion and potatoes. Bring to a boil, add 2 handfuls of noodles. Boil until done. Add hamburger, veggies, tomatoes, tomato sauce, basil, garlic, salt and pepper. Simmer 1/2 hour and ready to serve.

Note: You really can add whatever veggies you want. I did add some shredded carrots that I had in the frig. This makes a pretty big pot of soup. My mom always used Kluski noodle…in this soup and her beef and noodles. I usually do too, but I had these on hand.

Ingredient line up minus garlic, basil, salt and pepper.

Fill pot 1/4 to 1/2 with water.

Add potatoes and onions. Bring to a boil.

Then add 2 handfuls of noodles. Boil until done.

Add the rest of the ingredients. Simmer.

Mom's Hamburger Veggie Soup ~ Miss you Mom (and Dad) ♥

Guess what I am having for lunch? Really good with some crusty bread. Well, I seemed to put off decorating again….off to the attic!

Don’t forget to post a comment on your Favorite Mom Meal below 🙂

~Relish Food, Life & your Parents!

7 responses »

  1. Holy Cow, did that bring back memories, except my Mother made it by roasting stew beef and vegetables until caramelized then went on the tomato base with barley instead of noodles. I haven’t thought of that recipe in years. Thanks for the nudge, I may just make it this weekend. Our hot spell in the 80’s has ended and we are cool enough again for soup, back in the mid-to-upper 60’s. Hard to say of a favorite from her recipe book. She made complete copies of all her recipes and gave them to both me and my sister so I have all of them including ten pages of jello salad!

  2. We always got to pick our birthday meal. I always would want chicken and dumplings (of course homemade) when I would visit my mom on Saturday mornings she always had food and all made with no recipe. Things like beef stew, ham and beans, lasagna, all kinds of thrown together soaps (one of her tricks was to throw extra spagetti sauce in soup-jill you should try that) needless to say I haven’t had any of these since. But the memories are great.

  3. Looks so good. Like the addition of the carrots. Now I know what I will do with my frozen bag of vegetable soup vegetables. Why is it that canned green beans are so much better in dishes than the frozen ones? Great idea, Donna, about the spaghetti sauce. I make a tomato-based soup with zucchini and Italian sausage, and that would be ideal.

  4. Your soup looks so good Jill and reminds me of my mom’s soup that she still makes us. I am very fortunate that still today when my mom cooks her big pot of vegetable soup she always makes sure we get some. I am also very lucky because she has created a large recipe book for all of us with her recipes as well as her mothers and mother-in-laws old recipes. Thanks for always reminding us to stop and enjoy life with our parents because I definitely feel blessed to still have my parents in my life.

  5. I will make Norene’s soup soon! Jim’s birthday us Sat, he loves her coffee cake, will be making it for him.
    My mom’s veggie soup is my favorite. She has made it twice in the last few weeks, always gives us a nice helping, comes in handy right now with all the hospital business. She browns a rump roast to start, and the kluski noodles too, as well as cabbage, a can of tomatoes, a few potatoes and I think she uses a bag of frozen veggies. It always tastes the same, mine doesnt!
    When I was in school, the only day I would eat breakfast is when she would make biscuits/gravy or pancakes. Her milk gravy is the best and the scent of ho-made biscuits in the oven on a cold morning was heaven! : )
    Cindy

  6. I made this soup this weekend reminded me of my grandmas homemade soup. It gave me a real warm feeling inside along with helping to cure the nasty cold I had. My husband said it was the best soup he has ever had.

Leave a Reply

