Baked Chicken Taquitos and Creamy Cilantro Sauce

Standard

I spent last weekend visiting Samantha in West Palm Beach, FL. It was so nice to get away to nice weather, but especially nice to spend some one on one time with Samantha. I am so proud of her and the woman she has become.

The first night we attended the West Palm Beach Art Show, which was across the street from her apartment. The art was great, but the people watching was fabulous 🙂

Friday night we had dinner atFood Shack in Juniper. Then we headed for a drink at Guanabanas Island Restaurant and Bar.

On Saturday Samantha treated me to an exercise class and a massage at Exhale located in Omphoy Ocean Resort.

We got to enjoy the beach a little bit in the morning before our class and massages.

Between the class and massage we enjoyed breakfast beachside. We both ordered Lobster Omelets. They were soo good. The little jar in the background was jelly and everyone got their own jar to use. It was yummy.

Samantha, Jeff and I enjoyed dinner  that night at one of my Mexicans places in West Palm, Rocco Tacos. On Sunday we decided to cook dinner for a few of her friends. So, we hit the Green Market to buy some of the ingredients.

I LOVE that place. There is a bakery there that has the BEST Almond Croissants ever! Unfortunately, I did not take a photo before I ate the whole HUGE thing. Well, Sam did take a photo of me stuffing it into my mouth, but I could not figure out how to send to my computer. Just trust me, it was delish and I relished every moment of it.

We stopped at a road side truck and purchased the Stone Crabs...which were yummy!

Then we took a long walk on the beach ♥

We prepare dinner together along with her friends. I really meant to take photos of the food…but I think the Mexican Martini kicked it and I forgot 😉

I had the job of slicing onions for the Onion Bacon Marmalade. This was our solution to onion goggles when cutting 4 lbs of onions.

Dinner was great, but the company was awesome!

I was sad to leave, but I get to see her in February at a pharmacy conference.

On the way home I had a layover in Chicago and I had the BEST Chicago Hot dog!

This is a sign they have posted at the hot dog place.

No, I did not put any ketchup on it...it did not need it. Sooo good!

Ok, are you ready for a recipe? I love Mexican food and pinned this recipe on Pinterest. The recipe, I think originally came from Our Best Bites.  Taquitos are usually fried, this a baked version. It was very easy and yummy.

Creamy Baked Chicken Taquitos

  • 4 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1/3 cup salsa verde
  • juice of 1/2 a lime
  • 2 tsp chile powder or 1 tsp. Chile powder and 1 tsp. Ancho Chile powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 3 Tbs chopped scallions
  • 2 cups cooked and shredded chicken
  • 1/2 cup shredded Mexican Taco cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded Pepperjack cheese
  • 8-12 (6-inch) Flour tortillas
  • kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • cooking spray

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, combine the cream cheese with the salsa, lime juice, cumin, chile powder, cayenne, onion powder, garlic, cilantro, scallions, and 1/4 tsp kosher salt.  Fold in the chicken and cheeses.  Taste and season with additional salt and pepper if necessary.

Working 3 tortillas at a time, stack them on a microwave-safe plate and cover with plastic wrap.  Cook 30 seconds, or until tortillas are soft and pliable.  I did not find the need to do this, but wanted to include it just in case your tortillas are not pliable. The original called for corn tortillas, I used flour and they are softer than corn. I like flour better.

Spoon 3 tablespoons of filling onto the lower third of each tortilla, and roll tightly.  Place seam side-down on the prepared(spray with cooking spray) baking sheet.  Repeat with remaining tortillas and filling.

Spray the taquitos lightly with cooking spray, sprinkle with salt.  Bake 15-20 minutes, or until the tortillas are crisp and golden-brown.  Serve with salsa, sour cream, and/or guacamole.

Ingredient line up.

The tortilla I have here are so soft. You can find them at Super Valu in the Mexican food area. They are not in the refrigerated section.

I cooked my chicken in the microwave in a covered casserole dish.

Mix cream cheese, spices, cilantro, green onion, salsa, garlic and lime juice.

Stir in chicken and cheeses. At this point, you can refrigerate until you are ready to use it.

Place approximately 3 T at the end of the tortilla

and roll up.

I had a poblano pepper, so I decided to roasted it and add it some of the Taquitos.

I brought home some FL avocados from the Green Market and decided to add it to some of the Taquitos.

It is hard to see here, but FL avocados are HUGE. They are at least 2 times the size of the avocados we have here.

Here I just added avocado. Some I added avocado and the poblano strip...oh man those were good.

Put the seam side down on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray.

I made the whole package of 10 tortillas and had this much chicken left.

Spray lightly with cooking spray and sprinkle with salt. Bake 15 - 20 minutes.

I decided I would serve it with a Creamy Cilantro Sauce and taco sauce. I wanted to serve it with salsa. But, I hunted high and low for salsa….never found any. Kate came home after we ate, walked to the frig and pulled out some salsa!?! Anyway, I made Creamy Cilantro Sauce ahead of time and refrigerated it. I found this recipe years ago on All Recipes website. It was very good with the Taquitos along with Taco sauce.

 Creamy Cilantro Sauce                                                                                    

  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 tablespoon sour cream
  • 1 (7 ounce) can Salsa Verde
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon celery salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 bunch fresh cilantro, chopped 
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

Put it all in food processor and blend.

Ingredient Line Up. I have salt in here by mistake. It does not need it with the celery salt.

No need to chop the cilantro...doesn't it get chopped in the food processor??

Creamy cilantro Sauce.

This is great with just chips, chicken, fish or any Mexican dish.

Baked Chicken Taquitos with Creamy cilantro Sauce...YUM!

You really could add what you want with the chicken. I kept some of them without any add ins for Grace. Some ideas of things you could add: corn, chopped jalapeno, poblano, avocado, green chilies and tomatoes. Maybe not all together, but you could easily add one or two of them.

Sorry for such a long post, but I wanted to share my trip with you.

~Relish Food & Life!

2 responses »

  1. I love to read your posts/recipes. It makes me want to go home and COOK!!! I think everyone in my household will enjoy this recipe.

    Becky Boeschen

Leave a Reply

